We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had more time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Tamaro

Monte Tamaro
Lugano 6802 Rivera, Switzerland
91 946 23 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Attractions in Lugano
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Cross-country Ski Areas, Biking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Thompson, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wish I had more time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went tot he Splash and Spa at Mont Tamaro, which was an easy short train ride. Everything is well labeled and easy to follow directions in Switzerland. My husband and I had a blast, if we had more time would have done the Zip line and cable car next door.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    53
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best View and Great for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Must see place if you are in Ticino area. best view compare to other mounts. Excellent for Kids activities at both cable car levels. still lots of snow and thats why adventure park is till closed. Restaurant is good and compare to other mountain restaurant its cheap. Again cable car ride is free with Ticino discovery card...very useful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A mountain with extra!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Monte Tamaro is well known by biciclle fans, as the tral downhill has been used for many championships in the last years. Recently, a wellness, spa, swimmingpool has been opened, completing the ideal sportsday of every teen!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Must visit if you're in Lugano, Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I may be alto phobic but that view up above and the cable car ride was definitely worth it. Went around April last year and there were still snow everywhere. The restaurant was ok and a bit pricey but it was indeed a fantastic attraction. Excellent view!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Cable Car Ride and Mountain Top View.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Can't miss this when you're visiting Lugano. Beautiful views with a unique church architecture at the end of the cliff. The cable car ride is also worth the money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Tamaro also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Monte Tamaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Tamaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.