We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Tamaro

Monte Tamaro
Lugano, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 attractions in Lugano
Type: Biking Trails, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Mountains, Cross-country Ski Areas
Attraction Details
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must do for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It got lots of activities for kids. Coaster Bob and Flying Fox were thrilling. We did not have enough time to do the Adventure Park or Paraglider so I cannot comment. Anyway, a must do for family with kids. You can spend at least half day here or whole day if you want to do everything available there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    51
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Don't know what to do? Well, this area has a lot of entertainment for all ages...

Waterpark, forest aerial adventure park, children playground, Alpine paths, zip-line, bob run... Is better to have an idea of what want to do before approaching the aerial tram ticket booth since they have combo prices starting the basic round-trip ticket (CHF 23.00); one-way with bike (CHF 20.00); round-trip with adventure park (CHF 39.00); round-trip with adventure park plus zip-line ride (CHF 45.00); round-trip with day dish at the restaurant (CHF 38.00); round-trip with adventure park plus waterpark (from CHF49.00)

At the summit is located the restaurant, an eclectic design church, children playground and hiking trails... This area is a great place for an outdoor day out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“If you like the outdoors and a bit of adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The idea really was just to go there, to go on the adventure trail! I wanted my son to experience what its like to be up in the treetops, walking along narrow planks, and wires (whilst being securely clipped on). It starts off with a little video introduction then followed by a mini practical run through explaining the various clipping, safety techniques that are used, then you are let loose. There are I think 5 levels of difficulty, so something for everyone. Obviously not great if you don't like heights, but we had a great time and I am sure that my son developed some self confidence and pride by doing it!

The Gondola ride up is a pleasant experience, there are two stations, both leading off to either the adventure section, or up above to walking trails, mountain bike trails, the bob sled, flying fox and a very interesting church. On a clear day, if you have the stamina, the views of Lago Maggiore are wonderful!

After doing the activities at both stations we went to the Splash/Spa centre below. This was a great way to end the day. The ticket price is all inclusive in here apart from Spa treatments and food etc. The indoor wave pool was a hit, as was the outside relax pool with bubbles! There is also a pool bar for the bigger kids!

Initially I was a little surprised by the price of €100 odd, for two people, but it was an actioned packed, full day, and in the end good value for money.

We are planning to go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
670 reviews 670 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
“Avoid holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went on a day that turned out to be some religious holiday, and the place was packed with families. Took away half the fun of a place that has many possibilities. The walks and the hikes are the highlight to challenge all types, or easy on the body. The restaurant is surprisingly friendly for vegetarians. There are better hikes from the intermediate station. The top is more stark and devoid of any foliage. You can definitely make a full day outing here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for a day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We took the cablecar up to the top station (1530 meter) and spent some time there. The kids loved the Alpine-Coaster Bobs very much. My oldest daughters (13 and 11 years of age) and myself took our chances and rode the Flying Fox, which is quite exciting, 'flying' on a cable at some 60 km per hour.

There is also a small playground for the smallest children.

In the (self service) restaurant you can have snacks, some cold and hot meals. You can sit on the outside terrace or inside the restaurant. Consumptions are rather expensive, you could bring your own food and enjoy a picknick, there's more than enough space to sit down around the small lake next to the restaurant.

We did not stop at the middle station if the cable car but there is an adventure park (climbing from tree to tree) to enjoy.

Make sure you have a look at the weather forecast before going up. We had some 28 degrees Celsius and clear skies when we left Rivera. On top of the mountain it is quite a bit less warm. In the afternoon we found ourselves in the midst of fresh clouds, it must have been around 15 degrees Celcius. Make sure to bring some warm clothes with you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Tamaro also viewed

 
Lugano, Ticino
Lugano, Ticino
 

Been to Monte Tamaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Tamaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monte Tamaro to your Saves list