We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food but very old style restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Tinera

La Tinera
Via dei Gorini 2, Lugano 6900 , Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 275 Restaurants in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“great food but very old style restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

great food but very old style restaurant
they need to modernise
Switzerland is expensive but the food was great

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    68
    37
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Not innovative, just plain old fashioned delicious food. We had the best porcini risotto here during our 5 weeks in Italy.
Also on the menu, Zabaglione, which we have not seen for quite a few years.
At first, we were afraid that La Tinera was going to be a tourist trap, but it turned out to have a nice mix of clientele both local and international. A good time was had by all.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Second time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Love this place! Our second visit to Lugano and second visit here, downstairs in an old cellar, serving rustic food from the region. Very happy with La Tinera, I even recognised most of the staff from our previous visit, four years prior!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OMG! Best Osso Buco I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This restaurant is a little off the street. You need to seek it out. You will not be disappointed. Reservations are suggested. Plan on enjoying a very nice Italian dinner and sit back and relax. Everything is prepared fresh and the food is delicious. I go here every time I am in Lugano, I wouldn't miss and neither should you. Believe me you will return.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

lip smacking, delicious food. we had the chicken which was tasty juicy flavorful. The arrabiata sauce had a nice kick to it, too spicy for my 7 year old but we enjoyed it. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Only downside, on a nice day, its no fun to sit in the dungeon for a meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tinera also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to La Tinera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tinera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.