We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“apartment with a perfect view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barony Le Pergole

Save Saved
You added Barony Le Pergole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barony Le Pergole
Via Violetta 5 - 7, Lugano 6976, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“apartment with a perfect view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

we had a perfect stay at an amazing location. what a view! so beautiful!! nice apartment with generous rooms / space. friendly people and a very private atmosphere. central located at bus station and easy to go "downtown" lugano. we'll come back!
thanks!

Room Tip: all apartments having that gorgeous view! fine selected antique interior with modern comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I are still impressed from this nice and tastefully furnished at Le Baronie. The furnishings are high quality, original antic and at the same time with modern technology equipped, real Persian carpets, bath in white marble. We had an unforgettable atmosphere of purity and luxury. Not to forget the garden with rarest and costly plantation, absolutely heavenly. The unbelievable view of the luganer lake, the mountains juicy green, still around at august.
We thank with the best recommendations for this unforgotten stay.

Room Tip: From all Apartements you have a looking to seaside and Mountainsview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

For two weeks we stayed in Villa Pergole, we had an amazing view at the lake. Our appartment was very private, so we could have all the rest and relaxation we needed after a year of hard work. Christel is a kind, helpfull woman, she is doing a great job managing the appartments by herself. We had a great time at Villa Pergole.
Bas & Evelien

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riehen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Heralded as a "castle-like 5-star" location, this is an utter disappointment. The only good thing to say is that it is located in a quiet area with a good view over Lake Lugano. The place is untidy (we saw dog's excrements for 2 days), with weeds in many places, gardening items left around somewhere, and other items like cushions, children's' toys stuffed into some corners. The furniture, described as "stylish, classical, impressive", is a mix of some old and a few very and cheap items, placed somewhere without any sense for fit. Lights in the bathrooms of apartment 1A are only working with motion sensors. A barbecue which should have been available, was found nowhere. Even worse, you are or may be charged extra for lots of things: simply to park your car on the premises, for the telephone in the apartment even if you don't use it, for using a prepaid card with it, for removing your garbage bag if you don't do it properly, and for placing kitchen items back to their original place on the shelves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardenie, Inhaber at Barony Le Pergole, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
These subjective negative comments are refuted on the basis of statements by many other
extremely satisfied guests. See guestbook of this castlelike estate and awards as well as the
official Swiss-stars-awarding.

The assertions from these tourist are following after my written complaint from 23.07.2012
because of damage to the S.-toilet due to improper operation resulting in non-availability for rent and rent loss for this apartment I A.

Sensor lighting with automatic ventilation is a newest technology and includes a direct operation. - We did not find out about "dog excrement for 2 days" in the 4.000 m2 parkgrounds
and it was also not admonished by them during their presence. - If so asked, we would have
accompanied also this family to the barbecue station with facility. - The payment for convenient
parking place in the immediate vicinity of the villas complainded about, whereas it is rated posi-
tively by other guests. - A slight fee for possible use of the telephone with a prepaid card ensues from the fee which Swisscom charges for this purpose. - The park is all over covered with exotic plants, for example there are flowering in springtime 134 different camellias and not "on many places weeds". - Replacement of kitchen utensils is a Swiss rule for the purpose of the quickiest possible repleshniment for the next guest in case of damage through the previous.

In addition:
The main wing of the house B was built by the noble family of the President of the Swiss
National Council in 1932/33 in the 30s; theoretically a historical estate, as also denominated
a street in the antique nucleo of Lugano-Castagnola with his name. In the late 50s acquired by the testator of a big German company and completely renovated and spaciously castlelike
enlarged until 1969. The estate was converted afterwards by me as holiday apartments with a
new building and continually renovated to this day with high level in terms of building complex,
garden and interior decoration.

The interior furnishing consists of:
German country-style solid wood kitchen with handmade French tiles + antique leaded glass
windows + crystal chandeliers. Bathrooms covered with Italian white marble or precious Italian
tiles. Marble flooring, precious paintings, oriental carpets and also furniture of the 17th / 18th
century and not Gelsenkirchner baroque. Swiss-Bico-beds with orthopaedic mattresses.
Antique wooden columns in the interior and granite in the outdoor area as well as aircoditioning in all rooms. See photographic documentation in the home page of the Barony:
Apartment I A and others.

The fact that this family does not classify such a facility should not lead to a definitive negative
rating in the Internet portal or to a proclamation as "Avoid this place - you'll be disappointed".
And see also written from same family in the guestbook of the Barony: "We spent relaxing and
beautiful days her ...." And furthermore there are different ratings from them in this portal in
confrontation with the portal of the company from which this family rented in Villa Le Pergole the apartment I A .

Christel von Husen, September 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We arrived at this castle like property with tropical vegetation and the sound of birds - the studio we stayed in was extremely comfortable, egyptian cotton bed linen, kitchenette with everything we needed, but the view was the real magic, stretching over lake Lugano and the mountains in the distance and many flowers. We ate on the terrace overlooking this peaceful paradise and woke up only to bird song - you could not be unhappy here! Swimming in the lake daily which was only 5 mins walk and climbing the mountain behind us, shopping in Lugano and talking to the extremely friendly people. Christel, the owner was just lovely, constantly bringing us new things to make our stay even more luxurious and she even returned the deposit the day before we left before checking the apartment. The other apartments I went to see were also just stunning, luxurious and furnished with beautiful antiques all with this beautiful view and incredible peace. We didnt have a car and didn't need one - transport in Switz. is so easy and always on time. We cant wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barony Le Pergole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barony Le Pergole

Address: Via Violetta 5 - 7, Lugano 6976, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic superior Barony VILLA LE PERGOLE with 3 villas and total 10 maisonette-apartments (non-smoker) of different size for 1-9 persons + covered swimming-pool is situated in the exclusive district of Lugano-Castagnola-Cortivo at foot of Monte Bré (the sunniest mountain in Switzerland) near the lake (70 m airline) and the lakeside path to the picturesque fisher-village Gandria (1,3 km). Peaceful and sunny placed away from the disturbance of urban and cantonal roads between private blind alley via Violetta and antique Olivetree-footpath thrones this castlelike residence over a 4.000 m2 terraced Mediterranean tree-garden (nature-left) with panorama-view over Lake Lugano and nearby mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Barony Le Pergole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barony Le Pergole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.