We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms in an unusual complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maraini Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maraini Resort to your Saves list
Maraini Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Massagno 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Lugano
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms in an unusual complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The Maraini complex is a little odd, being part hotel and part clinic, but I thought the advantages well outweighed the peculiarities. In any case, it means it has good facilities including its own grounds and a pool, and is quiet. There is no getting away from the fact that Lugano is hilly and the Maraini resort is at the top of the hill whereas the city centre is at the bottom, but it is more or less level with the railway station, and there are buses into town if you cannot face the walk. My room was enormous with a double bed, sofa bed, dining table and kitchen well spaced out. There was also a large and pleasant balcony with a table and chairs. The kitchen was well-equipped (although I would have liked a coffee maker). The minimalist décor rather reflected the clinical nature of the establishment, and a bit of updating would not go amiss. Nevertheless, considering the amount of space, it was very good value for money for Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
9
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Let me start by saying we were not given any instructions for how to check in on Sunday. Maraini Resort is located in a complex of many buildings-a retirement community. We arrived and walked around the compound for a while before asking a waitress who ended up "checking in" for us. Turns out there was no one at the front desk and no one to help us get our key. No sure what would've happened if we arrived after the waitress got off work...

The property advertised itself as having a washer/dryer but after asking a cleaning lady in broken Italian, she told us to go to the basement. Let me warn you that the basement is a labyrinth and connects all the buildings together. Long story short, after getting yelled at by a man who worked there in Italian, and finally finding a washer dryer that looked like it was for the staff, we couldn't figure out how to use it and gave up.

We also left for dinner only to find the gates were closed and locked when we got back at 9pm. he only directions posted on the gate was for visitors to go to another gate somewhere 100 meters away. Thank goodness someone was leaving and we were able to get in.

We didn't find this to be a very professional "hotel". We were not given any instructions for the things I mentioned above and feel that the stay could have been much more pleasant if there was more information available.

The rooms were finre. We had a view from our balcony. Definitely for old people (emergency button in the bathroom). Showers were designed quite poorly and couldn't close all the way, which means it's pretty much impossible not to leak water onto the floor after showering.

This is away from the center of town, on the other side of the train station. It's about 10-15min from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Aargau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The resort is easy to reach by car and by train though not necessarily easy to find. Walking distance to the city is less then 1 km, partially alongside one of the busy roads in town and as the resort is placed in the upper part of the city - as the main station is - the way back from the city center can be a little cumbersome. The reception is polite and efficient. Rooms are very spacious, can have a very nice view on the lake, and have a kitchenette supplied with the most important. Rooms are furnished with IKEA furnitures and look fresh and modern. The resort offers the service of an restaurant as well as a basic spa.
All together a good place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights last week. The apartments are enormous, the views are stunning and there is a good gym and swimming pool. It is only a ten minute walk to the station and the walk into town is easy. The walk back is harder (uphill), but there's always the funicular. Can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: They are all good, as long as you are at least two floors up - to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dona Di Piave, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went there for 4 days on the occasion of our daughter's FIRST Birthday ,January 2012. Enjoyed every single day ... it's clean and the view from the balcony was awesome, the thermal pool was added enjoyment ! Highly recommend for family with kids :)

Room Tip: rooms with balcony are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Maraini Resort the views from our room of the lake were spectacular and even though the mountains were capped in snow the weather in mid December was perfect for enjoying local wine and produce from the balcony! The room was well appointed and there was ample space for a family of 4. Cooking facilities were adequate but a washing machine would have been great as hotel laundry was quite expensive. Breakfast was minimal in choice and I thought quite expensive. In hindsight we should have opted to not have breakfast and purchase breakfast provisions from the supermarket. All in all an enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of the world!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room on the upper levels to enjoy the beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed there for 3 weeks and have to say it's OK. The apartments are pretty sapcious which is nice but on the other hand, they look a bit "empty" at the same time. There is a sleeping couch which is not really for sitting and far too far away from the television, a couch table which is to small and dinner chairs which are a bit uncomfortable.. they could improve the lights, there are ceiling lights but for a more cozy light there is nothing. the view is nice, the balcony is big and the kitchen has all it needs to cook basic food. it's ok in the end but things dont really feel valuable, and a more comfortable couch would have been great. Staff is helpful though, speaks italian/french/german and english and it's pretty close to the station where you can find an (overly expensive) supermarket which is also open on sundays (when 90% of everything in lugano is closed)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maraini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraini Resort

Address: Via Massagno 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maraini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maraini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraini Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maraini Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.