We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maraini Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maraini Resort to your Saves list
Maraini Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Massagno 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Lugano
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Come for the views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We absolutely loved the views from our balcony, as well as the spaciousness and convenience of having an apartment. If you are looking for a quiet retreat above the hustle and bustle of Lugano, this is it! We took the train and walked (about 10 min.). When you exit the train station, get on the #4 bus 1 or 2 stops if you don't want to walk. To get down to the water and town, take the funicular from the train station (a 2 minute ride).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
9
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We headed to Lugano for some shopping and being new in Switzerland (barely a month), we did not want to get lost in the italian speaking region of Switzerland, thus! Our main priority was to get a hotel near the train station so as to minimize chances of us getting lost. And, we stumbled across the Maraini Resort. It is actually more of like a serviced apartment. It is a straight forward walk down, probably within 300metres from the train station, a short 5-10minutes walk.

What did I love about the place? Everything. The rooms were clean, theme of the room was red and white, had everything that you needed. From dishwasher, full sets of cutlery, oven, fridge, soap etc. It was fantastic. Also, depending on the units you got, ours had the view of Lake Lugano and I'd say it was a very pretty sight at night when the hill lights up at night from the little houses on the hills. As a guest there you could use the additional facilities like the indoor heated swimming pool as well! :) Definitely a plus point in the cold cold winter.

Downside of the place? I stayed with two others, there was a king bed in the master bedroom, and the third bed provided was actually in the living room. Thus our poor friend had to sleep in the living room. The third bed was a foldable bed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We booked this hotel rather last minute, mostly based on availability and affordability (though with current rate of CHF, ouch...). We were pleasantly surprised. Friendly welcome. The two rooms we had (334 and 337) both had a nice lake view, the latter maybe even better with a view on Mont Bre as well. The rooms are very spacious with a small kitchen and nice balcony, which is nice to wind down after a day in Lugano. Also the pool which is open till 10 p.m. was something we enjoyed. Well situated close to the station and not too far from the center.
Breakfast buffet was ok (usual standard fare). Agree with earlier review that entrance to the parking is a bit tight.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

No A/C in the rooms?
no curtains

the room is large and clean
the parking is complecated !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
88 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Reception closes at 5 pm so we had to "find" someone ( a nurse from the clinic next to the hotel in this case. Extremely kind nurse I must say) that showed us the " check-in procedure". If we had not found this lady, only a sheet of paper stuck on one door would have been our "instructional guide" in the complex .As the reception was closed, I needed extra pillows for my back and it was IMPOSSIBLE get them . I slept really badly that night.
The apartment was very large and newly furnished, perfect in equipment (kitchen, hair dryer,kettle...) but no one to ask (for example heating or air condition was "fixed" and there was not even a programmer or "button" to turn on or off, it did not mind if you were cold or hot. I had to put my fur coat on my bed to keep warm in the night, no extra blanket or cover/ duvet.
We booked a room for 3 people and there was a bedroom with a very nice bed but the other BED??? was in the living room and it was "something -like-a-bed", bended in the middle and just fine for a child under 10 for example.
Breakfast is really "scarce" and poor ( some croissants and bread, juice and coffee,tea and some "ghostly"cheese and ham). Not strange it is included in the price.
Price is very very high for what it is offered.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Great surprise! The hotel is in a parc with a beautiful view over Lugano and the lake. The appartement is very big - two rooms, flat screen TV, very quiet.

It's a bit of a walk down to the city but not more than 5-10 min.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Awesome!! Had a corporate apartment - it was a beautiful place. Great service and staff!!

Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maraini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraini Resort

Address: Via Massagno 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maraini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Maraini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraini Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maraini Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.