We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Gallo d'Oro

Osteria Gallo d'Oro
Via Cantonale 3/A, Davesco-Sorango, Lugano, Switzerland
+41 (0)91 941 19 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 237 restaurants in Lugano
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Zürich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have lived in Lugano for six years now and am yet to find better cuisine than here. Specialities are all fresh and well made. The wine selection does not leave room for wishes (unless one doesnt like italian wines). Don't ask for Ketchup!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    43
    31
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing better ANYPLACE in Ticino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

One of the finest restaurants we have ever eaten in , and as it has evolved over the years, we love it even more. The food just gets better, the owners Matteo and Lisa radiate their love
for their little restaurant. The quality level never alters, and you will have things you just cannot get elsewhere......Do not miss it when in Lugano--but you have to let the taxi know that it is the Gallo D'oro on the hill.....Pasta as you have never eaten before..Love at first sight! The charismatic owners make sure you have a very very good time, and leave sated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cuisine from Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

When you are abroad and you can find a restaurant where the cooking is exactly the one you can find at home what else you can ask for? A small restaurant above Lugano with nice service and good wines. Recommended for business lunches.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Not good enough for the price paid.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My Darling and I visited this restaurant on a busy Friday night travelling from down town Lugano by taxi ( 71 euros return trip , only 8-10 minutes each way , on each occasion having to endure loud and politically opinionated Sicilian drivers... but it was a Mercedes, at least.)
The restaurant is quite impressive perched on the hill, its a stylish and modern place filled with movers and shakers of the upwardly mobile.
The menu was dictated to us by the waiter , which seemed like a nice touch , but to me whose first language is not Italian, might have been more comfortable with a written menu , especially with some evidence of the prices charged for the dishes.
We chose the two mixed appetiser platters , one from the sea one from the land. A scallop shell with a dissected scallop with a rather dry and tasteless topping of fine bread crumbs. Two battered and fried prawns, batter was a bit stodgy, a crostini with a tartar of fish , a little bowl of fresh mussels in a tomato sauce, marinated small fish and a kind of carpaccio of a fish of unusual texture and taste ... all in all the dish was quite enjoyable , but nothing mind-blowing enough to warrant the price of the dish . My Darling was impressed with his taste of the land, which included some bur rata, small tomatoes, a crostini with liver pate on top, fried fiori di zucca, in the same batter that could have been more enjoyable with more delicate batter. A slice of melanzana which might have been more enjoyable two days ago.
For the main course my darling chose the swordfish , which was excellent , simply served , but the great let down were the veggies accompanying the dish ...really over cooked green beans and uninspiring carrots and zucchini. a splodge of hash potato ....
My fritto mist di mare , was a tad over cooked therefore a bit dry which for the price i think more attention should have been paid to. The presentation of all the dishes had the same ubiquitous garnish of a curly lettuce leaf and some rather tired lemon wedges, that might have been fresh yesterday.
The desserts we chose were the chocolate fondant , which was excellent ... the mille feuille filled with creme chantilly , which squished all over the place when one attacked the pastry with a fork. Accompanied by some wild strawberries was a nice touch , the cream filling could do with some reconsidering IMO. The combo was not as harmonious to the palate as to the eye.
I had a glass of excellent prosecco.... and two small bottles of water.... The damage 181 euros. with taxi 252 euros.
A very expensive experience for something not quite good enough .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olen
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a great experience. Top class food, Matteo, owner, waiter, charmer, explains in a mouthwatering way the menu and the different dishes.Jokes a little bit, flirts a bit with the women, all sympathetically. He also gave me a nickname It is a fantastic moment. We went there 3 times and 3 times a great experience. Simply, it is the best. And the staff recognizes you, remember you name, knows what you had last time. The wine list is great and Matteo recommends the wines that go with your dishes. Just one advise: go there!!!!!!
We traveled around the world, ate in many great restaurants, but the Osteria is on the top of our list. Matteo, we will be back. Arrividerci e all prossima volta.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gallo d'Oro also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Gallo d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Gallo d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.