We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing view over Lugano and the lake.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colibri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Colibri to your Saves list
Hotel Colibri
Via Aldesago 91 | Aldesago, Lugano 6974, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Astonishing view over Lugano and the lake.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

One of the best view over the area aroumd Lugano.
Clean rooms and friendly personal. Not a boutique hotel, but a romantic place remembering the 70ties.

I would just avoid the tartar for dinner, was expecting much better one and it is a bit overpriced at CHF 95 for 2.

Otherwise its one of the cosiest place to stay fot a prolonged Weekend in Lugano.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain-Emmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We love this hotel! Second time in 20 years and they have updated a lot of the rooms..so make sure to ask if otherwise...the views are spectacular! The restaurant is very good...it is a great place to hang out when in the Lugano area. We love to go to Morcote for lunch, then to the AlpRose Chocolate Factory and back to hotel for a glass of wine on the balcony and dinner at the hotel. It does have a pool which is rare in this area and a nice addition when travelling in the summer....Doesn't get any better than this!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahoe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
432 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

As stated by many before, the views of of the lakes and Lugano are stunning (I had room 227). However, while the bathrooms have been recently remodeled, the rooms still sport rather old furniture with large floral patterns. Not my style at all, but clean. CHF 240 per night is not cheap, but then again, all hotels in Switzerland are a scam. Breakfast buffet was extensive for Swiss standards (again, with a view). Overall I can recommend this place to older travelers that like to relax and enjoy the view. It is fairly close to Bre sopra Lugano, an amazing little town with even better views. A pool is also available (across the street).

Note: A car is almost a must. Getting there by bus is not efficient.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Three-star hotel, first class experience!
Friendly welcome and service, attention to detail, clean, well appointed rooms, superb food, and THE most amazing views across the Lake of Lugano and mountains.
We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and view over the lake are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you want to go back to the 70/80's at a clean, nice, hotel with a superb view then Colibri is your place.

Room Tip: All room are with view, but I would take corner rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varegue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stunning location over the lake. Hotel was built in the 60s and has been perfectly maintained and upgraded only where needed. What a relief to stay in a family hotel which is neither part of a chain or modeled after the usual over-priced "boutique hotels".
Unique gem with fine restaurant and professional and helpful staff.
It is not absolutely necessary to own a car to stay there (good bus connections and one can ride the "funiculaire" during the day), unless one is intent on whatever night life Lugano may offer (we were very happy with the hotel restaurant menu and specials on 3 different nights).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DemainDeslAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

As a travel writer I stay in a large number of hotels and my assessment of the Hotel Colibri posed unique dilemmas.

It has such a stupendous view over Lake Lugano and such friendly elderly owners one tends to forgive its other shortcomings that in any other hotel would be seriously negative. The view fortunately keeps you breathless on the balcony and away from the perfectly preserved time-warp 1970s accommodation and public rooms. Nothing has been upgraded (although everything well maintained and clean) to fit in with the more modern demands of an hotel at this price. Even telephones and reception switches in punishing heavy plastic are as they were when first installed - a real museum piece. A curious experience this.

The restaurant is stunningly located too but again the food very mediocre and amateur in style - a real disappointment when you consider the million-dollar potential of this site. Also as the hotel is so far above the town alternatives for the tired traveller do not readily beckon. It is a long and circuitous way to drive down to real Lugano cuisine.

In my travels I have encountered a number of hotels that rely on their fabulous location to distract you from the disappointing realities. Their sites were obtained relatively inexpensively forty years ago and not much in the way of modernisation has happened since. There is an excellent outdoor kidney-shaped swimming pool, again with sun loungers with overwhelming views. An island sporting a palm tree lies at the centre which means you can swim in a never ending circle of beneficial mountain exercise.

Overall I considered I was paying a premium for the view but what of that ? A melancholy mood assailed me in the face of this fabulous but unrealised potential.

Michael Moran

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#8 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#17 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maraini Resort
Maraini Resort
#16 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
2.0 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colibri

Address: Via Aldesago 91 | Aldesago, Lugano 6974, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing