We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, lovely maintained hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colibri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Colibri to your Saves list
Hotel Colibri
Via Aldesago 91 | Aldesago, Lugano 6974, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
New England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stunning view, lovely maintained hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stunning location over the lake. Hotel was built in the 60s and has been perfectly maintained and upgraded only where needed. What a relief to stay in a family hotel which is neither part of a chain or modeled after the usual over-priced "boutique hotels".
Unique gem with fine restaurant and professional and helpful staff.
It is not absolutely necessary to own a car to stay there (good bus connections and one can ride the "funiculaire" during the day), unless one is intent on whatever night life Lugano may offer (we were very happy with the hotel restaurant menu and specials on 3 different nights).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

As a travel writer I stay in a large number of hotels and my assessment of the Hotel Colibri posed unique dilemmas.

It has such a stupendous view over Lake Lugano and such friendly elderly owners one tends to forgive its other shortcomings that in any other hotel would be seriously negative. The view fortunately keeps you breathless on the balcony and away from the perfectly preserved time-warp 1970s accommodation and public rooms. Nothing has been upgraded (although everything well maintained and clean) to fit in with the more modern demands of an hotel at this price. Even telephones and reception switches in punishing heavy plastic are as they were when first installed - a real museum piece. A curious experience this.

The restaurant is stunningly located too but again the food very mediocre and amateur in style - a real disappointment when you consider the million-dollar potential of this site. Also as the hotel is so far above the town alternatives for the tired traveller do not readily beckon. It is a long and circuitous way to drive down to real Lugano cuisine.

In my travels I have encountered a number of hotels that rely on their fabulous location to distract you from the disappointing realities. Their sites were obtained relatively inexpensively forty years ago and not much in the way of modernisation has happened since. There is an excellent outdoor kidney-shaped swimming pool, again with sun loungers with overwhelming views. An island sporting a palm tree lies at the centre which means you can swim in a never ending circle of beneficial mountain exercise.

Overall I considered I was paying a premium for the view but what of that ? A melancholy mood assailed me in the face of this fabulous but unrealised potential.

Michael Moran

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecht
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and got this tip from the Lugano tourist office. The hotel is located a bit away from Lugano center on the mountain Brè, but it provides one of the best views on the lake!
The hotel itself is clearly dated (I guess it was built early 70's), but the owners and personell where very friendly. Also the pool is only accessible after crossing the road, but it is clean and a nice refreshment for the kids.
Meals are served on the terrace (in July, temperature is high enough), so you can also enjoy the magnificent view. Many dishes are served and even prepared at the table, giving an extra special touch. The food was very good, and Italian style with Frenh influence.
The rooms are old fashioned, but have the comfort you may expect from a *** hotel. The only thing I really missed was an airco, since days are hot in July.
We think it is a perfect hotel for a short stay in Lugano, and worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

The Hotel is up the hills, and from some rooms or the restaurant you can have best views from Lugano. Pay a little bit more and choose the rooms with lake view. A little bit far from the city, but it worths. Nice swimming pool. Free parking. In a very kind way, the manager asked if we could pay cash... Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
254 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Hotel Calibri is an outstanding hotel in every sense of the word. It is situated on Mt. Bri with gorgeous view of Lake Lugano, the city of Lugano, distant snow-covered Alps and close-up Palm Trees! Our room was clean, fresh and comfortable with a wonderful balcony from which to enjoy the view and climate during the day and fantastic sunsets in the evening. This is not a budget hotel by any means, but every cent paid was worth it. The dining room is elegant, the breakfasts were hot/cold and full of just about anything. The dinner was one of the best we had on this three-week trip. The couple who either own or manage the hotel are "interesting" folks.....wife seems to do the desk clerk work and will chit-chat. Husband said nothing to us but either sat at his desk doing book work or at the tiny bar talking with a friend. There is good parking and a nice outdoor pool (closed when we were there off-season). Municipal bus runs right in front so getting into and out of the city of Lugano (which is a wonderful place!) was very easy. Would we go back? Absolutely (along with our big wallet!).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A little confusion at check-in re meaning of half pension
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colibri

Address: Via Aldesago 91 | Aldesago, Lugano 6974, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Lugano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.