We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro style, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Geranio au Lac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Geranio au Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Geranio au Lac
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Verbano, Locarno 6600, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Locarno
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Retro style, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The room accommodated four people with ease, it was spacious and had a balcony with mountain views. The breakfast room also had great lake and mountain views, and the whole hotel had a great sixties design vibe to it. The plumbing in other rooms was a little noisy, although the people weren't.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in Locarno for three nights and picked the hotel due to its central location close to the railway station as we were dependent on public transportation for our day trips into the valleys. Our room had a beautiful view onto the lake and was very spacious for Swiss standards. Furnishing is simple and minimal but had everything we needed for our stay. There is also free wifi in the room (you receive a code at reception). The hotel is close to several lakeside restaurants and a few minutes walk to the old town and Piazza Grande. The breakfast room also has a great view onto the lake and the breakfast buffet was constantly replenished. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Everything is great except it is too humid in the room. There is no aircon and this could be quite unbearable if it's warm. We are at the 6th floor, eventhough there is free wifi, but the signal is very weak. Every time when we need to surf with our cell phone, we have to go all the way down to the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

My two friends and I stayed here for three nights in May 2011.
The location of the hotel for the cost is excellent; very central, right in the 'corner' of the lake-front area and quite literally three minutes walk downhill from the railway station by the shortest route. I made the booking using an on-line discount agency and the whole process inculding the booking, check-in and paying the bill was organised and streamlined, no part taking more than a few minutes each.
We had a spacious, modern room on the sixth floor (608) with a french bed for two and a slighly smaller double bed, there was a balcony with a side view of the lake and a bathroom and separate toilet (unusual!) both with wash basins. The room was clean, minimally furnished and very spacious, perhaps the only thing lacking in a fully occupied room for guests staying more than a few nights was storage space which was limited. Amazingly there were enough towels in the room for the number of people occupying it (rare in my experience when 3 or 4 people are sharing a room). The shower was entirely adequate and water always hot each morning and evening when we used it.
I've not given 5/5 for rooms and sleep quality because I can imagine that in the height of the summer the lack of aircon will be noticable, even in mid-May with temperatures of 25-28 degrees centigrade and thin duvets on the bed, we all felt quite warm at night and had to leave the sliding door open to get some cooler air overnight, but we are Brits and like to be cool at night, perhaps for others this would not be a big deal.
Breakfast was 7.30 - 10.00. Breakfast room on the second floor with a small terrace. Lots of choice; various breads, rolls, big croissants, yogurts, large bowl of tinned fruit salad, fruit including apples, oranges and kiwis, jams, butter, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, different teas, chocolate, juice etc. When we were there later one morning the staff asked if we minded if they cleared the food away in case we hadn't finished. All the staff were friendly, unobtrusive, seemed happy in their work and were scrupulously polite.
It wasn't especially cheap but by Swiss standards but we didn't feel ripped off by the cost of £170 a night for B&B for three of us, considering the resort price averages, and being more 'mature' ladies we don't really want to rough it on our week away.
I would have no issue with staying there again, nor recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: Convenience and value for a short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, pa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had 3 rooms on one of the higher floors in the old section. The rooms were were very light and had excellent views of the lake. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is right by the lake and in close walking distance to the main square and the train station. The bathrooms were very adequate. The breakfast was simple, but plentiful (lots of bread, cheese, yogurt, cereal, cold meats, etc). Air conditioning would have been nice. One complaint was the power saving lights in the hallways. They were on a short timer and would go off after only a few minutes. You would have to turn on the switch again for the lights to come back on. The hallways were exceptionally dark without the lights. For safety purposes, they should have some small light on in the hallway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Stayed here for three day using it as one of our bases for a rail tour of Switzerland and chose it originally for its proximity to the rail station (100 metres). We were very pleased with our choice, having been given a room with a balcony on the top floor with a superb view of the lake. The lift to get there was like a Star Trek experience - "beam me up, Scotty". Comfortable bed, varied choice of items for breakfast. Amused and mildly offended by the notice on each table "NO TAKE AWAY" prominently displayed in English, whereas all other signs in the place were in Italian and German (Do naughty English speaking people steal food at breakfast time for their lunch ?!? Surely not) .
It is located some distance from the cheaper restaurants in the town. This would not normally be a problem as Locarno is small enough to walk around quite easily. However we were unfortunate to be there on two wet evenings and had to eat at more expensive places nearby.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Spent only one night here on our whistle - stop tour of Switzerland. Adjacent to railway station, if travelling by train there is a short walk from the platform to the second floor of the hotel. (From platform go the opposite direction to the town - not well signed).
We were given a lake view room which was stunning.
Nice breakfast with same view of lake.
This hotel appears to be used as a buisness hotel.
Staff helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Geranio au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geranio au Lac

Address: Viale Verbano, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Geranio au Lac 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Geranio au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Geranio au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.