We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Millennium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garni Millennium to your Saves list
Hotel Garni Millennium
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dogana Nuova 2, Locarno 6600, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The perfect hotel for a vacation in Locarno I thought. Everything about this little hotel matches perfectly with the surrounding. It wasn’t business, massive, inhuman, intimidating, cheap, or neglected. It felt just right. Good sized room, bright and comfortable. Bathroom was clean, bright, and roomy. I felt right at home. Floor squeaks a little so you will hear your neighbor upstairs. In the morning they have one very nice lady who was the cashier, concierge, check in, and coffee server for breakfast. I guess that’s why they have a one way mirror at the breakfast room looking into the reception-so she can keep an eye on the lobby while serving us coffee, very good coffee at that. But you would applaud her ability rather than complain about the one woman band. The location was perfect. Hotels in Locarno seem to bunch up either in this area by the upscale lakeside restaurants, or near the Grand Piazza. Anything between are mostly large chain hotel with very little local feel. This hotel is the first building in the lakeside restaurant area so it is closest to all the other attractions. You are also literally across the street from the ferry terminal that takes you all over the lake. I wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else in Locarno. I’m afraid the secret is out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a very small hotel located just down the hill from the train station and across from the ferry dock. There are many restaurants, bars, shops nearby. The staff is friendly and helpful with limited English. At 9:00 pm, the desk attendant leaves and locks the doors. You must enter a code to get in after that time. We were there during an extremely hot spell. Our room had air conditioning ....barely. We have had this problem on our other stops as well. Running AC all day, our room is down to 82 degrees. Our room is very small. The bed is comfortable, the carpeting needs to be refreshed. The bath has been updated and is nice. There's a mini refrigerator, wardrobe and flat screen tv - but we found no English speaking channels. The wifi works well. Breakfast is simple but adequate

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

What a great choice for location and quality. We stayed in the Louis Armstrong room which had a great balcony and view. Breakfast was adequate and free wifi. Staff were kind and helpful. Planning on a return trip for 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

You can walk from the rail station easily as long as you are pulling your luggage. It is very clean with smallish rooms, but ample for a two night stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating offering all good tips. You can walk directly to the ferry, the Historic District and all the fine restaurants. There is a bazaar every Thursday that takes up the entire Historic District. Great bargains.
The hotel breakfast is more than ample...great selections and very good Expressos.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of lake front rooms available. Suggest you request same at the time the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 rooms facing the lake. The balconies were small, the view was ok (actually a little disappointing given its lakeside location) but the rooms were comfortable and clean. It is a basic hotel with no frills that serve a decent breakfast, located close to the train station and city center, by the lake, albeit along a relatively busy road. Overall a good stay but not so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel after reading a number of excellent reviews on your website and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a large double room with a small balcony and side view of the lake. The room was well furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small but spotlessly clean and adequate for a short stay. As the weather was very hot during our stay, we were so pleased to have air conditioning at night. From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated with courtesy and respect. Instead of being issued with a key we were shown to our room and given instructions on using the air conditioning etc. In fact the customer service was excellent throughout.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us with its proximity to the railway station and the lake. It was lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the boats. The road between the hotel and the lake can be noisy but, with air conditioning, we were able to close the windows at night and block out the noise.

This is a small and friendly hotel which offers good accommodation, excellent customer care, wonderful location and, by Swiss standards, very good value for money. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family and I booked 2 rooms at the Hotel Garni Millennium. It was a perfect location along Lake Maggiore. The morning breakfast was excellent. The staff went beyond in helping us by allowing us to store luggage and helping us figure out a bus schedule to Ticino. When we arrived back to this b&b our luggage was placed in our room. My only complaints were: the first nite we were there, we could not access wireless internet in either of our rooms and they leave the desk area by around 9 p.m. each nite. In addition, the rooms have a stale order/scent in each of them. The mattresses were very uncomfortable and I would suggest this would be one area they try to improve for the customers considering the price they charge. This hotel is expensive but the customer service is exceptional!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Millennium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Millennium

Address: Via Dogana Nuova 2, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Millennium 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Garni Millennium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Millennium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Millennium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.