We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, friendly staff ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via ai Monti della Trinita 44, Locarno 6600, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Locarno
Paris, France
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Big room, friendly staff ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Belevedere sits above Locarno, 10 minute (steep) walk down to the main square or quick ride on the funicular with slightly discounted rates from the hotel.

Nice views, big room, very modern. Perhaps lacks old world charm, but the nice views and spaciousness make up for it.

Staff is extremely helpful and very friendly. Good amenities (wifi, safe, nice toiletries, 2 free glasses if prosecco, fresh fruit in the room, etc.) plus, free use of bicycles and breakfast included. The only downside is the relatively high room price on which they add 13 CHF per day for parking in their garage.

All in all, a good experience. If only they could also control the weather and ward off all the rain.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
57
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Hotel is trully wonderful, perfect location a few minutes walk from the oldtown of Locarno. The rooms are really nice, beautiful pool area and extemely frienly staff. We would come back anytime. Daniel and Deborah, texas

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent a week here this summer by booking with Ingham's. The hotel is an Ingham's "Select" hotel, and these prove to be just what we like- real comfort and well- cooked and presented food with excellent service from a friendly staff. Our plane from Manchester was delayed through technical reasons, but we were met by a rep at Zurich airport and directed to the platform on which the train to Locarno would arrive. This train journey lasts three hours and passes through extraordinary scenery. It just filled us with incredulity as we couldn't imagine how the line was ever designed and built. We were popping from side to side of the carriage to admire the views! We had one change to make- which was just from one side of a platform to another in Bellinzona, and we arrived in Locarno at 7pm - three hours later than expected. We rang the hotel but were unable to connect, so took a taxi (18 Francs) up the mountainside to the Belvedere Hotel. Instantly we were made really welcome and were escorted to our room in a modern wing, with a lovely balcony and view of the lake below. The lake is surrounded by wooded mountains- some still with snow on the summits. The town nestles down the slope into the lakeside area below. The room & bathroom were spacious and beautifully clean, with slippers & robes, wall- mounted hair dryer and plenty of toiletries. There was good wardrobe space and fruit for our arrival. Walking down into the centre is not a problem and took us us about five minutes to the market place, but the hotel has its own stop for the funicular which runs every fifteen minutes up and down the mountain. We always used it going back up- the hotel sells reduced rate tickets at reception, saving 25 per cent. We decided not to travel too far in the heat, but other residents used the train to explore much further than we did. We took the No 1 bus to Ascona a few times from near the train station, to see this pretty place just round the corner of the lake. This is a smaller lakeside town, with lovely cafes and shops. We took a train to Lugano on Lake Lugano - a 57 minute trip. Lugano has a beautiful park, designer shops and a promenade by the lake. It seems richer than Locarno, but we felt Locarno was 'lived in' and not quite such a tourist destination. We used the hotel pool every day, walked around Locarno and visited the church on the rock that we could see from our hotel garden(we used the funicular to go up, and walked down a cobbled pathway with the Stations of the Cross on the descent). We did a boat trip to the island off Ascona called Isole de Brissago where flowers from all over the world are grown. We didn't rush around all week, but we are able to walk easily. You don't need walking boots, but would need really comfortable shoes and sandals. My memories are birdsong all day, the lovely blossoms everywhere and the pretty sight as evening fell and the lights appeared on each side of the lake. Nature provided a spectacular firework display on night for us as a storm rumbled round the mountains but we didn't need raincoats or umbrellas during the day. There was a lovely light lounge in the hotel on the first floor which we would have used if necessary. We ate in the 'Restaurant Affresco' on the first floor and service and food was first class. As it was so beautifully cooked and presented we tried things we had never eaten before and were never disappointed. We had a five course dinner each night- really delicious. We had wine costing about £25 at dinner and it was perfect with the meal, advised by the waiter. Breakfasts were buffet style with lots of choice. It meant that a coffee and cake - or a sandwich, was all we needed to have at lunchtimes. I don't hesitate in recommending this hotel. It is a lovely place- it is Switzerland, but sounds like Italy, and is friendly and interesting. Try it!

Room Tip: We think the rooms for Ingham's travellers are always in the modern block, but don't be put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

At first glance, I thought this hotel would be very nice. I stepped in the lobby, and was a little discouraged to see that yes it was very clean and modern, the lobby area was very gray and dark. The staff was slightly friendly and willing to help us to our room. Our room though, was situated in the older building of the hotel. This older building obviously contains older rooms. Our room was quite large which was nice, but it was very old. The furniture was very old fashioned and the pull out bed was extremely painful. The bathrooms were also very small and the carpets were not that clean. Overall, I did not enjoy this hotel that much. The pool was also small.

Room Tip: One building in the hotel is old and another is new. Keep caution when choosing a room, because your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchâtel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

What a view from our room ! Unforgetable ! Those are big, the bath room is well deserve too. We have dinner at the hotel, and the service was perfect, the" maître d'hôtel" was very friendly and professionnal.
We took the menu, it was ok but nothig exeptional.
The Spa, is great, even if the sport area is not big at all.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest ones have a nice lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very nice hotel, nicely renovated and decorated with balconies overlooking the mountains and Lago Maggiore. The decoration of our bedroom was in soft, grey tones, which made it cosy and comfortable. Good service at the reception. Breakfast is served in a spacious room and it was pleasant to have a quiet breakfast to enjoy the food. We even had dinner on the Saturday evening (it was included in the rate was had thanks to a special offer) and it was delicious. On Sunday morning we had some time to enjoy the swimming pool and the spa, which were clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payerne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wonderfull old hotel which seems very new.
Rooms are confortables and spacious. Breakfast and meal were excellent. Staff very helpfull and nice. I would recomment this hotel. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Room Tip: View to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Via ai Monti della Trinita 44, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Locarno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belvedere 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the hill which overlooks the city of Locarno, the Hotel Belvedere offers a breathtaking view on the mountains and Lake Maggiore, making it the ideal place for a wonderful vacation in Ticino all year round. Every moment spent at this magical location will become a treasured memory, and every business meeting here will be a well spent time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Locarno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.