We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Locarnese

Locanda Locarnese
Via Bossi 1, Piazza Grande, Locarno, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in Locarno
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Small restaurant in old town. We were looking for a place to eat and accidentally we found a quite Street, and found this food paradise. we had actually been 4 times in Locanda, so we tryed everything :) :) Food was excellent and the service was very friendly.
Next year we came back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Possibly slightly overrated [?]”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Knowing more or less all the good, excellent and fashion Locarnese restaurants, we intended to conclude our autumn holiday with the visit of this from everybody highly commended "Guide Michelin 2012/Gault Millau" restaurant. The anticipation was high and the subsequent disappointment a bit later relatively great. However, the reception in the decent environment, which was likely styled by an excellent interior architect was very professional, obliging and polite and the welcome from the kitchen was a sweet and soure work of art in a little plate. The menue was as expected and corresponding with the restaurants reputation. The disappointment was then the main course, which was entirely misleading in the menue, or who would anounce an 'ossobuco', (usually the Italian veal-shank "bone with a hole" ) and then present a huge plate with a few ravioly stuffed with minced meat [?] The spagetti "vongole" [?] made us frown completely. We abstained from a dessert, because we felt that the waitress became a bit uptight by passing of time, so we just asked for an espresso, and almost had a fit of laughter when we realized the little "Toblerone" in the espresso saucer [!]. That was the least expected in a 13 point Gault Millau restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“One of the very best in town. You should go. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very small and intimate with a charming and warm wood burning fireplace. The very talented chef creates excellent dishes. The service was flawless. Excellent wine list. If you find yourself in this breathtaking part of the world, you must go to this wonderful little restaruant just off the Piazza Grande. You will not be disappointed here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This traditional ticinese restaurant is something unique in the region. The atmosphere is very welcoming and the gastronomic offer is outstanding.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Locarnese also viewed

 

Been to Locanda Locarnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Locarnese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.