We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic birdshow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falconeria Locarno

Falconeria Locarno
Via delle scuole 12, Locarno 6600 , Switzerland
+41 (0)91 751 95 86
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Locarno
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic birdshow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited the Falconeria twice during our stay in Tessin. The show lasts about an hour, and there are two per day (11am and 3pm). The language of the speaker is German and Italian. This can perhaps be a little frustrating for those only speaking English, but so much of the show is self explaining that it is really of no great importance. A nice cafeteria provides food and shelter from the midday sun. The aviary (bird area) is very nice and provides a real insight into the different birds. The show has about 15-20 different birds, but this may vary from day to day depending on the birds condition. The area is very child-friendly and school classes regularily come to watch the show.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    46
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Show only in german language”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The show was great, but exclusively in german language (italian is the official language of that region). Half of the customers didn't understand a word of the presentation, and they paid for it !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was the highlight of my holiday! The birds actually fly over the audience , so it is truly up close and personal! I particularly liked the vultures which at one stage were sat just behing my seat.

My only criticism is that none of the comentary is in English.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent show - worth the trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

we went there as a couple for fun, and it was a great experience. There are some points which I would like to highlight though. First you should be on time, or better 30min before the show. Our schedule was either 11am or 3pm a show. we arrived to early and there is apart from the park, restaurant and the animals in the cage not very much to do. so a perfect timing is better. Secondly I suggest to sit in the middle row. While putting the settings into my camera, I felt a slight slap on my head and when looking to the right (the slap cam from the left) I saw that a huge owl just passed my head :-) Thirdly I advise also to use sport modus if you have it on your cam :) and lastly like a predecessor wrote, wear a cap!
for families it is also certainly a trip worth, there is a pony ride, possibility to take a picture with a Bald Eagle in the background.
Also I would like to highlight the friendly staff!
I can really recommend this attraction!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impressive birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

bird show and pony ride were a hit with my kids. Had to buy souvenirs off course - great t-shirt for boy and owl toy for my girl. all left happy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falconeria Locarno also viewed

Orselina, Lake Maggiore
Locarno, Lake Maggiore
 
Locarno, Lake Maggiore
Locarno, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Falconeria Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falconeria Locarno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.