We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding gourmet experience in Locarno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Valentino

Da Valentino
Via Torretta 7, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
41917520110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 103 Restaurants in Locarno
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An outstanding gourmet experience in Locarno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

An outstanding gourmet experience in Locarno
End of February in Locarno it is rather quiet but we had a wonderful lunch at the Ristorante da Valention.
The Restaurant is very charming there was a fire burning and the air was flavored with mouthwatering smells from the kitchen a light wood smell from the fireplace and the atmosphere from an old building,
The menu is inspired by fresh food in season; we had a delicious salad and a wonderful piece of veal with fresh mushrooms and asparagus. The menu is not huge but all the food is fresh and very tasty and I thing that’s what counts for the client. The wine list is very nice, with a good choice of local and Italian wines, we had a bottle white wine Langhe Arneis D.O.C.
If you are looking for a romantic Restaurant, serving outstanding food I can highly recommend this place. By the way the chef used to work at the http://www.castellodelsole.ch a 5 star luxury Hôtel in Ascona with an outstanding reputation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For a romantic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We tried Da Valentino when we were staying at Monte Brè for a weekend. I was going there knowing already that it was a Swiss Restaurant, and that prices were not the cheapest in Europe. It turned out that me and my wife had a very relaxing and romantic dinner in a very fine environment, the waiters were very kind and helpful (I heard them speaking German too) and the food was really amazing. It's pricey for European standards, but for Swiss standards I would say it's average (given that we found similar prices in areas where they were supposed to be less expensive). I really recommend "il Manzo" and "Il Tonno" as Antipasti, and give a try to the Cheescake and the Semifreddo as desserts. The Spaghetti all'astice and the Misto di Pesce were also very tasty. I really recommend "Da Valentino" for a romantic evening with your partner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Aspiring fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Da Valentino provides fine dining close to the Piazza Grande, and was indeed packed. The menu and the wine list were extensive and on the expensive side. The food quite good. The staff were a little stretched with the popularity.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Losone, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fantastico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

one of my favourite in locarno, located in the old town of locarno, close to the piazza grande. great food to a honest price. just go 4 it

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Valentino also viewed

 

Been to Da Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Valentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.