We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cittadella

Cittadella
Via Cittadella 18, Locarno, Switzerland
+41 (0) 917 515 885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 100 Restaurants in Locarno
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
zurich
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent seafood and pasta. The restaurant is on two floors - upstairs is a bit more elegant, the food is equally delicious on both floors. They also make a very decent pizza.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    49
    15
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad lobster experience in Locarno”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Not one of our best experience in Locarno. First we had a problem to get a table because the staff mixed up our reservation of the trattoria and the restaurant. After a small while we got a table upstairs in the restaurant. Looks everything very fancy and the service of the waters is actually very good. However the food was not tasty. I had the lobster and my girlfriend had pasta with seafood. The pasta was really nothing special and not well flavored. The lobster was too small for 50 SFR and not of the best quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minusio, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fresh fish in the church yard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Cittadella is a well known restaurant in the old city of Locarno. Right in front of the restaurant you find a small corridor that leads to a old church yard, Here were till a short time ago the nuns were
living now there is a stile full terrace to have lunch of dinner. We went on a nice spring evening
and were welcomed by a friendly staff member.
The service was all what you can wish, Accurate and Friendly.
As main course we had a Basilic pie and a lobster salad both nice presented and taste full.
As Main course The mixed grill of fish and the grilled prawns, Really delicious !
With the dark arriving there was a real nice atmosphere, and with the church choir singing in the back ground this dinner in the church yard became even more special.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“delicious cousine in a heart of Locarno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We decided to eat quick lunch in Cittadella during our stay in Locarno. I decided to try daily menu in perfect price of about 25 franks and my wife choice pizza. Both decisions was great my ravioli with cheese and the curry risotto with shrimps was delicious and according to my wife pizza was better then in Italy. Only minus of the restaurant is the service due to the fact that restaurant during lunch / dinner time is completely full so you have to be patient.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A taste of local cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

A great restaurant with local specialities in the old part of Locarno city. The fish dishes are particularly good though staff catered to our vegetarian guest. You should make a reservation especially if you want to sit in the courtyard. The restaurant was particularly busy and the staff a little impatient with our questions but good fresh food and local wine made the evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cittadella also viewed

Locarno, Lake Maggiore
 
Locarno, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Cittadella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cittadella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.