We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Muralto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garni Muralto to your Saves list
Hotel Garni Muralto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione 10, Locarno 6600, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Locarno
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is only about 2 blocks from the train station and the lake. But, it is uphill. It is in a convenient location to walk around the old town and stroll along the lake. The hotel is very well appointed. Clean and modern. I booked a standard room (cheapest). The room we were checked into was very small without a view. So, if you want the large room shown in the pictures, you'll need to upgrade to the lake view (king bed) which is what we did. It has a wonderful balcony with a sitting bench and small view to the lake.

Beds were very comfortable, room was clean and fresh. There is a very nice lobby with great big windows if you like to sit out somewhere other than your room.

Breakfast was okay. It was continental but did not have much variety. Maybe two types of cereal, some bread, cold cuts and cheese with croissants and some whole fruits. Butter, jam and nutella. Coffee and Juice. But, the breakfast room is great with floor to ceiling windows and a great outdoor patio to sit out and relax for the morning.

I would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a lake view or a king bed. Queen rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
35
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was an amazing surprise in the best possible way. It is a newly rebuilt building with modern fit out that has been done to a great standard. We were on the corner of the 4th floor and the view was exceptional. As it is up the hill a little bit it looked out over the buildings in the foreground and was a wider view than you get closer to the water. Location was great, an easy walk to the shops, restaurants and waterfront. Breakfast was a good quality and fresh which we found as good as we had elsewhere. Rooms were spotless, staff very pleasant and helpful and spoke good English as well as other languages. It is a place we would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Very pleasant experience overall. The breakfast could have been a bit more varied, but I got the impression that the hotel caters basically for travellers in transit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Good location, within a walking distance from the train station. The hotel was nicely decorated with very pleasant color tones and Italian touches were all over the place. Breakfast was excellent, we liked having it at the patio outside, just add an omlet stand and i would say it would match breakfasts in much more expensive 5 star hotels. The bathroom was nice as well i especially liked the twisting shower door.

My only remark is that they did not have English movie or Arabic news channels.

Room Tip: the room we took was towards the back, but the hotel faces the lake, ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Garni Muralto has been very tastefully decorated with modern fixtures and fittings and good quality linens and towels. The hotel was spotlessly clean, bright and airy. The hotel is in a great location just a 2 minute walk from the station and town centre. Unfortunately during our stay there was construction work next to and across from the hotel. This meant there was substantial noise from 7:30 am till around 5pm. I know the hotel can't help construction taking place however it would have been courteous of the hotel to mention it on or before check in and offer a token apology for the inconvenience. We chose a suite on the top floor, which I would highly recommend if staying here. The room was spacious and the view from the balcony was lovely. It was especially pleasant sitting out on the balcony in the evening (during the day the experience was slightly spoiled due to the construction - both from the noise and a reduction in privacy). The bathroom contained a separate shower and bath which is always a nice treat in a hotel. The internet connection was good enough for my husband to use for business purposes. The only negative comments about the room would be that the air conditioning was not very powerful and there was no tea and coffee making facilities in room which is very unusual for 4 star accommodation. Breakfast was OK but nothing special, just a standard continental. For a 4 star you would expect a wider choice and perhaps some hot options. It is a small property and so doesn't have the facilities of a larger hotel, no gym, restaurant etc however this was not a problem for us. We previously spent 1 night in the much larger Ramada Arcadia, which has more facilities, but had a truly terrible experience. The staff at Garni Muralto could not have been any more pleasant or helpful. They were keen to answer any questions and always greeted you with a smile. We would definitely chose to stay at the Garni Muralto in the future.

Room Tip: If you can, pay the extra and stay in the suite on the top floor for lovely lake views from the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I was nervous about booking this hotel because it only had three stars and was not extensively reviewed. It turned out to be better than three of the four-star hotels we stayed in. We booked a suite and were pleasantly surprised that it was newly and beautifully furnished. It had tons of storage space, air conditioning and an awesome, furnished outdoor balcony overlooking Lago Maggiore. The room was impeccably clean and the bathroom was wonderful. Location was also great...just two blocks from train station. The only downside is that the beds are platforms with a mattress...no box spring makes for a hard bed. At least the bedding was cushy and comfortable, however. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again myself! Hotel offers a decent continental breakfast for free. It doesn't have a full serice restaurant, a concierge or porter service, but if you can live without those amenities, this is a terrific hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

To keep it short: The hotel appears very fresh and trendy - from the interior and the exterior. We had a room on the fifth floor which was a little bit more exspensive but the panoramic view was well worth the extra money. TVs could have been chosen a bit bigger - but who comes to Ticino for watching TV anyhow. The Receptionists were not only very friendly and helpful but very pretty and charming, too. Breakfast buffet was a okay-standard. Nothing fancy but just what you need to start well into the new day. Summa summarum - I wouldn't hesitate to chose the Hotel Garni Muralto again for my next trip to Switzerland's exciting south.

Room Tip: Get a fantastic viwe from the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Muralto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Muralto

Address: Via Sempione 10, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garni Muralto 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Garni Muralto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Muralto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.