We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, friendly (small)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croce Federale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Croce Federale to your Saves list
Croce Federale
Viale Stazione 12A, Bellinzona 6500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bellinzona B&B and Inns
Thun, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good, friendly (small)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel is close to the train station (8 minute walk at the most), really close to the elevator to one of the castles and a big Migros (supermarket chain). The staff was friendly, the room was clean. not noisy. but small. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was ok (coffee, juice, bread, some hard boiled eggs, cereal, milk, yoghurt, ham and cheese on a tray).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
14
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Good location in center and near train station. No air conditioning- be careful in summer. No elevation, but bags delivered to room promptly. Decent breakfast. Spotty wireless. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Croce Federale is a well-located hotel in Bellinzona. Like everything in this and other parts of Switzerland, it's expensive. Not the place for travellers with cars either, as parking is difficult (just municipal parking wherever you can find it) and it's in a pedestrianized part of town, so you'll have to carry any luggage from wherever you do find a park. That said, the location is excellent and the hotel is nestled into a huge rocky edifice and overlooked by a medieval tower. Having arrived in Bellinzona without a booking, this hotel is certainly better than others we checked out. It's walking distance to everything of interest in the town. Walking the steps up to Castelgrande is a must for excellent views and if your room faces the small piazza, you'll also get great views of the Castelgrande from your bed! The rooms are not that spacious, as noted by others, and the bathrooms are a bit dated (but clean) - bring your own soap! Beds are firm and very comfortable. Breakfast, included with our room, was a bit minimal but OK.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walperswil
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

After having read the two reviews posted for Hotel Croce Federale I was quite worried what we would find in Bellinzona. But we had a good surprise. The hotel is very well located in the center of town in walking distance of the train station. There is a nice restaurant with terrasse in front of the hotel. Yes, the rooms are small but the beds were good, the room and bathroom clean (except the door of the bathroom inside the bathroom, a problem that I have often noticed in hotels), the big bathtowels were new and good, the sheet were changed even though we stayed only three days and breakfast was good and plentyful. Ok it can be loud during the night but you are in the center of town and of there are parties this is what happens! In addition the hotel personnel was VERY friendly and helpful, it is a longtime that I have not seen so nice people. We were happy with our stay and will probably go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Croce Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croce Federale

Address: Viale Stazione 12A, Bellinzona 6500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Bellinzona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bellinzona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Croce Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croce Federale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.