We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Days in Switzerland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arte

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arte
Via Tinus 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 hotels in St. Moritz
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“10 Days in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel did not disappoint. We were very well accommodated. Suzie was great. Her staff was great. We had to leave by 8am and breakfast does not start until 8am. Suzie changed the breakfast to start at 7:30 to accommodate us. SUPERB! She made sure we traveled with a full stomach. The recommendation about the food in the hotel restaurant is very true. We did not go anywhere else to have dinner, but at the hotel restaurant. Pizza and salad was Delicious, and of course, with a bottle of wine. We even chatted with next table, they are form Argentina. It feels so comfortable staying at this hotel.

PS: Not a negative, but, our TV was not working and we were staying in the Australian Room. We did not mind, this gave us a chance to read and have a quiet relaxing evening.

PSS: Towels: we place our used (face and medium sized) towels on the sink, instead of on the floor to indicate it was used. When we returned in the evening, the same towels was placed on the rack. We still have the two bath towels so we did not asked for replacement. Are the towels not meant to be replaced?

I totally recommend this hotel, but I just to make sure the towel problem we had does not happen to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our room was very nice and comfortable, but it was (as is the norm in Europe) VERY small. The person who checked us in, came to the room with us and showed us every little detail - not neceassry if you have ever stayed in a hotel before. WE felt a little 'hovered over'. The pizzeria downstairs was nice for our dinner and the breakfast the next morning was great. They even suggested that we take things with us for our train ride that day - wonderful! It was expensive but this was St. Moritz during the Christmas season. The town was decorated beautifully for the holidays. We only stayed one night but it was fun.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I'll start with " a 2 star hotel with 4 star prices" BUT this was St Moritz in high season. Lovely little hotel, great staff, great pizza restaurant, funky rooms, immaculately clean and a great location.
No parking on site and rooms a little small for a long stay but that's nit picking. Stayed with a group of friends and we all thought it was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We never stayed at the hotel but did stop for a fine evening. We were pleased with the nice surroundings and kind server. The meal was simple- Mozzarella d' Buffala and tomatoes (Caprese) and a Gorgonzola pizza. They were very tasty and with a nice Chianti, a pleasure to enjoy.

Only one little thing- the d' Buffala part is 6CHF additional on top of the regular Mozzarella Caprese price.

Room Tip: Access to the dining room is easy from the rear up the stairs on the right- turn to the left at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent one night in end of September, a very nice and elegant hotel despite it need some time to locate the hotel! The hotel manager Susie is extremely helpful and provide many useful information for planning day trip in St Moritz. The breakfast included is exceptional good, the variety and taste is out of my expectation.The restaurant at the ground floor provide good pizza with a reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Although the hotel is quite a hike uphill from the train station, it's in a great location if you are spending time in St. Moritz. It is close to all the high end shops and many restaurants. The rooms are on teh small side but they have all the conveniences and are well designed so there is plenty of closet/storage space and still room to sit and watchTV or write a note home. Free Wi-Fi, nice bathrooms with real hairdryer and plenty of BIG towels. The shower was a "car wash" style with multi shower heads but not a lot of room.

Each room is decorated in a theme, ours was Venice, and so all the art and wall hangings were scenes of Venice. The hotel is very compact and includes a pizza restaurant (which was closed during our 1 night stay) that also serves as teh breakfast room. Breakfast was modest - fruits and yogurts, breads, boiled eggs, coffee etc.

The staff was very friendly and the Susan the manager is a lovely young lady who greeted us upon arrival and made sure we had everything we needed before she left for the evening. The hotel is in a quiet area so you don't have to worry about street noise and it's in the middle of the town so there are no great views to dictate which room you might want.

The hotel was very convenient for our 1 night stay, however, given it's smaller size, it might not be as comfortable for a week stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Arte one Sunday night toward the end of September after taking the Bernina Express from Torino to St Moritz. The hotel is a bit of a distance up hill from the train station and we were advised by Tourist Information (at the station) to take the #3 bus which dropped us off at the main plaza; it was still about a 3 block walk uphill to the hotel--it is up near the Prada store. (Note: the bus driver did not charge us; said the price was included in our train ticket.) It is definitely worth staying at this hotel: the price was right, Susan, the manager, warmly greeted us and not only showed us to our room but showed us how everything in it worked, including how the Venice skyline on the wall lights up. Bathrooms are new with plenty of towels and all necessary supplies; there was a tub and shower. There is plenty of storage in the room, free wi-fi for all of our devices and a lift. At night there is a restaurant (pizza, pasta and more) on the ground floor and we recommend that too. I would definitely go back although we are finding that all of Switzerland is very pricey so maybe we won’t go back for awhile!

Note: It was a little hard charging our electronics because the European plug extender would not fit in the electrical plug by the bed due to the mattress being in the way. There was only one other plug under a curtain; that worked but if we had to charge two things, it would have been hard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte

Address: Via Tinus 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Moritz
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.