We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff, good value, no-frills in St Moritz.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stille to your Saves list
Hotel Stille
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Surpunt 58, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff, good value, no-frills in St Moritz.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

In a town full of little else but high-priced hotel rooms, Hotel Stille was very reasonably-priced and run by a very helpful friendly staff.
It's a bare-bones ski lodging, in the less fancy St. Moritz Bad (vs Dorf) part of town, but only a pleasent 15min walk to the center of the action in the Dorf. At the height of winter, this can include a shortened walk across the frozen lake, which is certainly a thrill whether approaching the shimmering town lights at night or under the big sunny sky by day. Oh, and wild deer stroll the forest edge a few meters outside our window!
Our narrow double room included 2 single beds end-to-end, plus small table and 2 chairs, with a bathroom shared with the neighboring room, including a shared shower that resembled a youth hostel shower. Included breakfast was basic, but standard for Switzerland. (granola, yogurt, fruit, cold cuts, bread)
I mistakenly booked the wrong dates, but the friendly man at Reception found us a place, even during a busy winter weekend! Very appreciated!
Most important is the low price for a hotel within walking distance (or one can use the bus) of everything in St. Moritz.
Restaurant Sonne, just down the road, has GREAT pizza in a casual atmosphere and casual prices!
150chf/night - double room.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
13
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Nice sized room and the staff were nice as well.

We stayed in the building with the blue window frame and there is a printer on the ground floor, their print press woke me up the next morning (we were on the 2nd floor which is really the 3rd).

Breakfast was good, shower pressure was ok too.

We wanted to leave a day early and Jorg was great, only charged us 30chf instead of one full night. You can ask for a ride from the train station (about a 20 min walk around the lake) free of charge.

We had dinner at a thai restaurant at a hotel down the street that was phenomenal, Jorg can give you the name of the hotel, started with an L.

Ritzy/expensive side of St moritz is about a half hour walk away. The Bad/Bath side is more residential than touristy.

the hostel next door has internet access for 6chf/hr (very good price) and rents bikes if you leave your passport.

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — rooms with the blue window frame share building with a printer- which is loud during the day
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

After a scary drive through the snow we arrived at Stille to be greeted with a warm welcome. Although we had already booked ahead we were offered a choice of rooms/ apartments (bear in mind that May is definately off-season in St Moritz and there don't seem to be many tourists there).

Our apartment was spacious consisting of large fully equipped kitchen area and lounge together with a huge double bedroom and family sized bathroom. We only stayed here the 1 night but it could easily have serviced a family's needs for 1 or 2 weeks without feeling overly cramped.

It would be a great base for skiing or hiking/ climbing in their respective seasons.

  • Liked — spacious, clean with stunning views
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Its a good place for a family of 3 like us. We got a huge apartment for ourselves completely equipped! Its a little away from the main station and the city, but a 5-10 mins walk to the bus stand. The people there are very friendly and very helpful. Would stay again!

  • Liked — The space, privacy and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

This is a very nice inexpensive hotel for the St. Moritz area. The absolute best thing about this place, though, was Thomas. He said he wasn't the owner, so I don't know what title to give him other than Caretaker of the property. He was absolutely wonderful. He took his time in dealing with each person, and making that person feel like s/he was the only one that mattered at that moment. He had lots of information on making our stay much more enjoyable while visiting the area. However, there were two things I did not like about the Stille Hotel and that was their lame excuse as to why they do not provide soap in the bathrooms. Supposedly the "Americans" have "allergies" to soap products. I'm thinking it's more like the hotel just does not want to take on the added expense of supplying soap in the rooms. And the other thing is, they charge you for using a credit card to pay your bill.

  • Liked — Thomas
  • Disliked — Added expense when paying by Credit Card
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

Finding affordable accommodations in St. Moritz is no easy task. The city is known as the most expensive in Switzerland. It's a popular vacation spot, and is full of hotels but none of them may be in your budget! My husband and I visited in high-season, in mid-August. I found a reasonably-priced sport hotel about 5 minutes (by car) from the train station. The Hotel Stille is nice enough and at $86 for a double room it's the best price you're going to get in St. Moritz.
You get two single beds and a shared bathroom, but a decent breakfast is included in the price. Tea or coffee, several kinds of cereal/muesli, bread and jams, cheese. Keep in mind there is no elevator so you have to take the stairs...
The owners were not there when we visited, but the friends that were sitting in for them were very helpful. They even drove us free of charge to the train station...no little favor since it cost 20 francs by taxi to get over there.
We were happy with the hotel considering the price and the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stille

Address: Via Surpunt 58, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Stille 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Stille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stille Hotel St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.