We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stille to your Saves list
Hotel Stille
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Surpunt 58, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This apartment in St. Moritz was a nice surprise. We took a 2.20 CHF bus ride to the Hotel from the main train station. The apartment is very modern and the staff was very nice and helpful. My only regret was that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: I didn't know there were hotels and apartments for this place. We booked an apartment through E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
9
13
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our experience started with arriving late in St Moritz on train. An email from the hotel said call us when you arrive about a pickup - when we called the response was sorry we are too busy - get the bus. Next bus was 35 minutes, it was snowing and very cold so we took a taxi (20 Euro).
Reception was very rude at check-in, and then we found our studio unit was down the other end of the road, another 15 minutes walking and dragging heavy luggage through the snow in the dark, trying to read a vague map in the dark to find the building (Hotel reception refused to take us to the room).
At the least the room was clean, and the restaurant at Hotel Sonne was across the road (good service there).
The advertised WIFI was not available either.
With facing walking up the road and back for breakfast each morning we skipped this, so cannot comment on the quality.
What we did find on our last morning trying to check out at 7:45am before catching our train, was that that the hotel door at reception was locked, and we had no way to get in to hand back the key or make payment (let alone have breakfast).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel is nice if you get the chance to stay in one of the new apartment. The only negative point is the sofa bed if you are sleeping in the living room as the mastress is really hard.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Unlike the hotel, there is an elevator provided for the apartment of Hotel Stille.

We were pleased that we got our studio room upgraded to one-bedroom apartment. It is very new, fully equipped and nicely decorated. As it is located near the end of the road, it is quiet.

Furthermore, it is close to the hiking paths and not far from the lake. It is around 10 minutes away from the supermarket on foot. The closest restaurant is at Hotel Sonne which is within walking distance. Although the hotel is not in the city centre, it can easily be accessible by bus. The travelling time is about 15 minutes.

Its breakfast is basic and nice. There is a nice lady preparing the food. Both Thomas and Andrew are very friendly and informative.

The only imperfection is that we could smell the odor of paint like substance in the corridor of the apartment. It probably came from the publishing company on the ground floor. As we only stayed there for a few days, there shouldn't be much harm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We rented two double rooms with a shared bathroom. The price was quite reasonable for St. Moritz. The rooms were nice with a view of the mountains. Jorg and his wife were extremely friendly and helpful. Jorg came and picked us up at the train station and also dropped us back on the day we left. We had some doubts after reading the mixed reviews on trip advisor but our experience with the hotel and its staff has been very good. We had a happy and comfortable stay. Value for money is quite good and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

"Hotel Stille" in St Moritz Bad suggests - perhaps - a charming hotel surrounded by woods on teh lake. The reality is a concrete block overlooking a builders yard. It started badly when we arrived as three minutes from the station by taxi cost 25sfr! Bus was 3sfr! There was no one at reception and the contact number simply rang and rang. Off-putting notices "we will not give you keys after 930pm" "do not take food from the breakfast" set the tone. When we did get checked in we stayed in an appartment which was - admittedly - spotless if 60's! Breakfast was OK. St Moritz is - of course - fabulouly expensive and this just shows what happens if you do not read tripadvisor!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

What you get are 2 twin size beds, lamps, a table and a closet in a room. TV is in a common area. They don't provide any soap/shampoo. They claim to have a laundromat, but it is very small. There is no dryer and no place to dry your clothes. They don't change the linen on a daily basis. Linen and Breakfast sucks. The hotel is far from the station as well(25Euros). They charge you for credit card use. Bathroom latch was broken. Room was very musty. There is no elevator either.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stille

Address: Via Surpunt 58, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Stille 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Stille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stille Hotel St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.