We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Gian Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Gian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Gian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gian 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in St. Moritz
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We happened upon this hotel in St Moritz and we could not have chosen better. We had an excellent stay. The staff was very courteous and helpful, the rooms were wonderful. The menus for Breakfast and Dinner were very nice and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
32
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The amazing experience of train journey on Glacier express was topped up for me and my family at San Gian hotel. The view from the room was amazing and the facilities in the room were simply superb. Courtesy extended by the hotel staff, right from front office to room service to the restauarant was worth appreciating.
My daughter was runnning fever so I wrote to the hotel if they can arrange for a pick up from station.oNot only the hotel staff arranged for a complimentary pick up but ensured the drop at the end of stay too.
Quality of food at the restaurant was good though I found the spread to be limited.
You can't miss the bathroom here ... TV next to bathtub and all taps / shower having LED color code (blue, green, amber, red) for indicating water temperature.
Overall a fantastic stay at the hotel and good service / courtesy of the staff. I'll definintely stay here during my subsequent visits.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my two weeks vacation at the San Gian, a beautifully renovated hotel in St. Moritz, Switzerland.- The hotel ambiance is sophisticated and cozy. All the staff welcome you warmly and make you feeling at home. Attention to guests' needs is top priority. -The guestrooms are spotless and the traditional local look of the room perfectly blends with the modern minimalist style of the bathrooms. Breakfast and dinner are two important moments of the day. In the morning, buffet with a big variety of food and in the evening, the curiosity of tasting a mixture of Italian, German, French and the local traditional "Engadina" cuisine, are additions to the pleasure of the stay and the joy to return. If you have a car, parking is not a problem. The hotel location is " strategic" I can say. - Extremely well suited for "wondering about ", going to the spa or for reaching the starting points for walks in the woods, around the lakes or even to the nearby glaciers. And in August, the weather was gorgeous and the view of the mountains capped with snow mesmerizing. -

Room Tip: Hard to say. - It is based on what you like and need. - The hotel offers a selection for everybody...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived here about 1 pm and I was very unwell with a tummy virus. The previously unbooked check in took only a few minutes. I was quickly in our room and it was lovely. Spotlessly clean, lovely bed and very pleasant staff. It turned out I needed a doctor and they made all the arrangements, gave us directions and after a short time I was given a drip, medicated and back in the room. The next day I was better and we had a lovely couple of days. The staff continued to ask about my health and were very friendly. The food at the hotel was excellent, service unsurpassed and absolutely spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were assigned a small room on the first floor facing the street and the room was not equipped with a mini bar. We asked the hotel to give us a wake-up call, but unfortunately we didn't receive any call the next morning. We complained to a hotel staff member about our room having no mini bar and us having received no wake- up call, and all the problems were solved on the following day. The hotel staff member was nice. The hotel is not located near the lake; however, we could have a relaxing time because of this lovely staff member. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biberach (Riss), Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel room is huge and very clean. Bathroom provides separated bathtub and douche. The staff are very courteous and very nice. The hotel is just 5 mins walk from the Signal cable station, it takes just 5 mins to bring you into the amazing Engadiner mountains. By the way, the hotel provides you in sommer a card with which you can use all the cables in the region for free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

San Gian hotel is a nice place in St.Moritz.
It's located in a calm place, by the bus stop, which is very convenient, since the buses can take you to all hiking and skiing spots. The hotel is so nice that they provide you with a public transport card which works for buses, lifts, cable cars etc, and believe me it saves a lot.
The minus is that there is a gas station by the hotel, but the plus is that there is a shop at the gas station which works till 21.00, which is very rare in Switzerland.
The hotel is nice, rooms are clean and with interesting design.
There is a kettle an coffee/tea in the room.
Overall comparing to another hotels in StMoritz in terms of price/quality, San Gian is a smart choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Gian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gian Hotel

Address: Via San Gian 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your San Gian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gian St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.