We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and compassionate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Gian Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Gian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Gian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gian 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in St. Moritz
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and compassionate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived here about 1 pm and I was very unwell with a tummy virus. The previously unbooked check in took only a few minutes. I was quickly in our room and it was lovely. Spotlessly clean, lovely bed and very pleasant staff. It turned out I needed a doctor and they made all the arrangements, gave us directions and after a short time I was given a drip, medicated and back in the room. The next day I was better and we had a lovely couple of days. The staff continued to ask about my health and were very friendly. The food at the hotel was excellent, service unsurpassed and absolutely spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
29
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were assigned a small room on the first floor facing the street and the room was not equipped with a mini bar. We asked the hotel to give us a wake-up call, but unfortunately we didn't receive any call the next morning. We complained to a hotel staff member about our room having no mini bar and us having received no wake- up call, and all the problems were solved on the following day. The hotel staff member was nice. The hotel is not located near the lake; however, we could have a relaxing time because of this lovely staff member. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biberach (Riss), Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel room is huge and very clean. Bathroom provides separated bathtub and douche. The staff are very courteous and very nice. The hotel is just 5 mins walk from the Signal cable station, it takes just 5 mins to bring you into the amazing Engadiner mountains. By the way, the hotel provides you in sommer a card with which you can use all the cables in the region for free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

San Gian hotel is a nice place in St.Moritz.
It's located in a calm place, by the bus stop, which is very convenient, since the buses can take you to all hiking and skiing spots. The hotel is so nice that they provide you with a public transport card which works for buses, lifts, cable cars etc, and believe me it saves a lot.
The minus is that there is a gas station by the hotel, but the plus is that there is a shop at the gas station which works till 21.00, which is very rare in Switzerland.
The hotel is nice, rooms are clean and with interesting design.
There is a kettle an coffee/tea in the room.
Overall comparing to another hotels in StMoritz in terms of price/quality, San Gian is a smart choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying in San Gian on my honeymoon. The rooms are spacious and clean and with all amenities one looks forward to. The staff is very helpful and attentive to our needs. They not only gave us tips and places to visit but also handed us the engadin card that allowed us to travel for free in buses and cable cars.
The breakfast is good but the staff is the most charming that made our stay even more enjoyable. We were put up in a nice room on the top floor with a good view of the mountains.
Did not get a chance to eat in their hotel that has a Mongolian buffet but definitely tried a few drinks at the bar.
The location is good and the bus stop is just 2 min away.
A yes to San gian and their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was a bit far away from the station, but had reallly amazing and beautiful rooms, huge bed with complementary fruits in rooms, plus you could fell in love with the bathroom as you get up in the morning you could see the fantastic view of the snow covered mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Aust
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First, the service. We had some difficult travel problems while staying in St Moritz, and our German is zero. The hotel staff helped us in every way they could and enabled us to get back on track. They also arranged a room change and gave us free local travel passes. We are very grateful for their assistance.

Second, the restaurant. We think this is one of the best eating options in lower St Moritz on a price/quality basis. And in upper St Moritz the price can be scary.

Finally, the rooms. They are high-tech, with some good features and some not so good. There is no Aircon and rooms may warm up at night. Our front room was a warm room, and the traffic noise was too loud for open windows. Rear rooms are cooler and quieter. All rooms are spacious and are well-equipped.

The location is not inspiring as the hotel is next to a gas station in a semi-commercial area (but on the plus side, the gas station includes a shop). But all in all, on a price- performance-service basis, San Jian is a good option in lower St Moritz.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Gian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gian Hotel

Address: Via San Gian 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your San Gian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gian St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.