We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart choice in St Moritz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Gian Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Gian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Gian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gian 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in St. Moritz
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Smart choice in St Moritz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

San Gian hotel is a nice place in St.Moritz.
It's located in a calm place, by the bus stop, which is very convenient, since the buses can take you to all hiking and skiing spots. The hotel is so nice that they provide you with a public transport card which works for buses, lifts, cable cars etc, and believe me it saves a lot.
The minus is that there is a gas station by the hotel, but the plus is that there is a shop at the gas station which works till 21.00, which is very rare in Switzerland.
The hotel is nice, rooms are clean and with interesting design.
There is a kettle an coffee/tea in the room.
Overall comparing to another hotels in StMoritz in terms of price/quality, San Gian is a smart choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
31
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying in San Gian on my honeymoon. The rooms are spacious and clean and with all amenities one looks forward to. The staff is very helpful and attentive to our needs. They not only gave us tips and places to visit but also handed us the engadin card that allowed us to travel for free in buses and cable cars.
The breakfast is good but the staff is the most charming that made our stay even more enjoyable. We were put up in a nice room on the top floor with a good view of the mountains.
Did not get a chance to eat in their hotel that has a Mongolian buffet but definitely tried a few drinks at the bar.
The location is good and the bus stop is just 2 min away.
A yes to San gian and their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was a bit far away from the station, but had reallly amazing and beautiful rooms, huge bed with complementary fruits in rooms, plus you could fell in love with the bathroom as you get up in the morning you could see the fantastic view of the snow covered mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Aust
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First, the service. We had some difficult travel problems while staying in St Moritz, and our German is zero. The hotel staff helped us in every way they could and enabled us to get back on track. They also arranged a room change and gave us free local travel passes. We are very grateful for their assistance.

Second, the restaurant. We think this is one of the best eating options in lower St Moritz on a price/quality basis. And in upper St Moritz the price can be scary.

Finally, the rooms. They are high-tech, with some good features and some not so good. There is no Aircon and rooms may warm up at night. Our front room was a warm room, and the traffic noise was too loud for open windows. Rear rooms are cooler and quieter. All rooms are spacious and are well-equipped.

The location is not inspiring as the hotel is next to a gas station in a semi-commercial area (but on the plus side, the gas station includes a shop). But all in all, on a price- performance-service basis, San Jian is a good option in lower St Moritz.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is very nice. A lot of care has been taken in fitting out the rooms to an extremely high standard and they are just beautiful. The bathroom is fantastic. Plenty of storage space both in the room and in the bathroom. The room we had, although facing the road was extremely quiet. The bed is fantastic, so much so, that we asked for and were given the address of the supplier. The staff are very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much for them. Breakfast was excellent, with a choice of a cooked breakfast in addition to the standard buffet. The overall experience was well worth the cost of the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel will allways be my first choice. The guys in the reception are extremely helpfull and kind. And we didnt even stay at the hotel, we just drove by and needed help with mountain pass info but we got alot more than just info. The wonderful young lady made sure we we're comfortable with everything while waiting for better weather and snow clearence. With Info about laws, policy enforcement, traffic and mountain rules, and possible alternative routes, they made our day. Imagine what kind of service and great time we would have got if we we're to stay for a night or two :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great Hotel with great rooms. Very comfortable. It is only about 100m from the gondola to the Corviglia. There are nice restaurants and even a casino nearby. The bus station is also close. They have a great Mongolian restaurant that allows you to create your own meal from many types of meats, vegetables, and noodles. The chef then cooks it up for you. It is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Gian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gian Hotel

Address: Via San Gian 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gian Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your San Gian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gian St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.