We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Loeffler Hotel

Loeffler Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Loeffler Hotel to your Saves list
Loeffler Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dal Bagn 6, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

this was the worst hotel ever. i called the hotel a day before arriving and ask if they provide transfers and the male reception said: NO and he said he will be charging me 20fr per night for having my 3 year old with me.i said that i was not told by the agent whom i booked with and the rooms were alreadx paid for . HE said "that's not my problem)i.e. not his problem". utterly rude and i have stayed in many worldwide hotels and this is the worst ever. i travel almost onec every 2 months, often 3 hotels each stay and often in europe and this reception was rude. aside from that, room was small, they did not change the bedsheets at all, bed felt like it was falling apart. the location was off the main town and there was construction on the 1st floor of the hotel and the cafe at the ground floor. given that there was so much contsruction around; the least they could do was be nice given that there was still guests willing to stay at the hotel, I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL EVER. i am surprised my son did not get bites from bed bugs or something.... this hotel made our experience at st moritz not enjoyable

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

I stayed for one night at the Loeffler Hotel on April 21/22, 2007. The male manager of this hotel apparently had the indecency to read my wife’s private fax to me and thus discovered my ethnic origin. Throughout my stay I was harassed by this person. The ethnic basis of this was disclosed by his Swiss-born wife/female manager, who was otherwise civil enough. The man is outrageous and spoilt my stay.

  • Disliked — male manager
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

This hotel had a few good points. It was reasonably priced, and they did laundry by the load -- much less expensive than by the piece. There was an excellent restaurant nearby. That said...the hotel was far from the train station and center of town. Buses were erratic. Our room was very small, but clean and would have been just fine except that it was directly across from the reception on the second floor. That's two feet away! It was only yards away from the breakfast room. It also faced a charming view (not!) of the construction site across the street. All of this combined to make a very noisy place to stay. Keys were to be left in a basket at the reception, but there was usually no one there so anyone could have taken them. You had to pick up the telephone there and call, then wait for someone to come assist you. If price is your only concern, then stay here. Otherwise I would certainly try to find somewhere else.

  • Liked — they did laundry by the load
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

This hotel is nothing spectacular nor was it bad...it was ok. We overnighted and that was plenty. The loud construction across the street did not make it homey either.

The rooms very neat and tidy however it seemed to be a little dated. The room was very hot with no visible thermostat but it was well below freezing outside so sleeping with a window open was not an option. The beds were not very comfortable. I did not sleep well at all that night and I'm not hard to suit.

Breakfast was ok...that's all. One good thing they make their yogurt from scratch. The dinning room was a little complicated to find because it is on the second floor along with the reception area and the rooms are on the 3rd floor and up (A little confusing).

I could stay here again but I would rather choose something else.

  • Liked — The Yogurt
  • Disliked — It was miserably hot.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

The Loeffler Hotel in Saint Moritz Bad was nothing special, but ok on all fronts - location, staff, rooms, breakfast etc. It also seemed like a newer hotel and the rooms/ decor were all new and well-maintained. The hotel manager was friendly and helpful, but a little talkative. The reception was actually on a different floor which is kinda odd. There were a few restaurants nearby and the place is not too far from the train station (by bus). Breakfast was adequate. We had a good stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loeffler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loeffler Hotel

Address: Via Dal Bagn 6, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loeffler Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Loeffler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loeffler Hotel St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loeffler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.