We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We took a Cosmos tours” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baeren to your Saves list
Hotel Baeren
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maistra 50, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Huntingtown, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We took a Cosmos tours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel staff is friendly, the rooms are larger than most European hotel rooms and clean. the carpeting needs replaced. The dinner was excellent and a good value. Waiters were very nice and attentive. I would stay here again. Indoor pool, and a balcony which I enjoyed sitting on to read.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    30
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Bareen as part of our Cosmos Train Tour of Switzerland. It is a "quaint" older hotel that is a significant distance (at least to us) from the town center. Apparently no two rooms are the same. We had a small, but adequate room with a good bathroom. It was not particularly clean. A good breakfast and an adequate restaurant. The staff was very friendly. Unfortunately a new hotel was being built next to it that will block any hope of a view. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay there, as we were mainly there to crash between train trips and not to see St Moritz. There was not much we wanted to see in St. Moritz.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

A good hotel in semi-central location. Close enough to walk to the ski slopes, basically close enough to walk anywhere in St. Moritz Dorf. Its close enough to all the clubs which will save a tab on the taxi bill. Nice pool and spa area. Half of the hotel is newly renovated. The "old" rooms are small and simple but comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbald, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Baeren hotel this month and I don't know why the reviews say that the staff was unfriendly. The hotel is about 103 years old and there is some construction at the site next door of a condo-hotel but we didn't hear any noise because we were out during the day touring. The breakfast buffet was very good and the dinners were very good as well. The internet service there was one swiss franc for 30 minutes which was the cheapest we had for the whole 8 days. The staff was very polite and accommodating and we would recommend the Baeren - it was about a 10 to 15 minute walk into the main area of town with an elevator down to the lake area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

the owner cum receptionist was very rude with my wife ..we stayed as cosmos scenic tour of switzerland bytrain on 24 and 25 sept as guest.the room was small but the heart of this lady spoilt our mood in this heavenly country where everything looked perfect.

  • Liked — isolaeted place
  • Disliked — receptionist cum owners mis behaviour
  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here as part of a Train tour. This is a lovely homely hotel in a fairly quiet part of the town with an older feel. The meals are pleasant and the service efficient. It's a short walk to the town centre and the views in the area are supurb although we did not have these from our room on the second floor as a building was being constructed next door. Cow bells could be heard out the front of the hotel but not from our room which was large and had a balcony. There was a large pool however we did not use it.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Hotel situated at the top of the town, right opposite the clubhouse of the Cresta Run with views all round.
The staff here went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and successful. We were offered a choice of rooms, different options for meals and help with transport around the area. If you're looking for a modern 4* hotel then forget this. All the rooms are different and the hotel is quite quirky. Nothing was too much trouble here. Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Address: Via Maistra 50, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family style hotel, individual decor rooms, restaurant, banquet facilities, indoor pool & spa; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baeren Hotel St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baeren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.