We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz to your Saves list
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mezdi 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First Rate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Despite the classic look of the exterior, the hotel was fresh and well maintained inside. We had a 3rd floor room in the front, smallish but with a nice, new large bathroom and separate 1/2 bath for the WC. Great water pressure in the shower. Loved the high ceilings, but wished we had A/C since it was a hot sunny day. Service was uniformly excellent, but in the main restaurant the staff works at, let's say, a measured pace. The breakfast buffet was outstanding with a nice omelet bar. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    64
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
88
190
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We arrived into St. Moritz via the Glacier Express and were picked by the hotel car.
We were upgraded by the Hotel and had a wonderfull time with our kids. The deluxe rooms were comfortable and spacious.
Breakfast spread was nice and inviting. Staff very courteous. Overall a very satisfying stay at the Hotel and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

St Moritz is a town that is known for luxury and service. The Kempinski embodies this and exceeds it!

We stayed for two nights and were devastated when we had to leave. The hotel is large and grand however makes everyone feel intimately welcome and special. The best example of this is when we went down to breakfast on the second day, without prompting they remembered who we were, the table we requested the day before and even our coffee order! That level of service is rare - unless you're a celebrity.

The room was large, comfortable and warm. The view was spectacular. The summer is considered their low season however I think this is when they are truly able to shine. The concierge was outstanding and helped us make the most of our stay including sailing on the lake and downhill mountain biking. The complementary BMW X5 transfers were greatly appreciated after a day of exploring the town. We valeted our car and the team did a great job and even offered to move it indoors when it briefly rained. Another fine touch were the maids who said hello every time and stepped to the side of the corridor to let you pass. These small touches are what makes a hotel go from great to outstanding.

We also experienced the spa, pool and enormous sauna facility. These facilities would be worth hundreds of thousands of dollars and were immaculately maintained. The sauna was perfect for defrosting after a day of exploring. The spa had a large range of treatments with highly trained staff. The 60 min Swedish massage was excellent and you never felt rushed.

I would strongly encourage you to get the inclusive breakfast. The buffet is enormous and diverse and with a chef on standby I'm sure you could request anything that you felt like. The Kempinski take on the eggs Benedict was mind-blowing.

Make sure you spend the time to truly appreciate the hotel. The fresh water spring under the hotel is meant to have magical healing powers and it definitely worked on us! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel - these have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Only had one night here, but what a treat. One could not criticise anything at all.
The room was large (we paid 32 francs for an upgrade but it was worth it).
Breakfast superb. Staff were helpful and we were transported to and from the station in style BMW limo. We were fortunate to have good summer weather.
A bit out of town but buses go all the time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel sets the bar for excellent customer service. I have stayed at many high end 5 star hotels and this one blew me away. Beginning with the iconic setting a the foot of the St Moritz mountains, gorgeous lobby, restaurants, rooms & spa. Upon checkin the front desk rep walked me through the hotel & room and gave a tour. The room was amazing, private balcony, mountain views, overlooking dozens of sports cars parked at the casino. Loved the big comfy bed & large armoire for storage. Bathroom was big but the shower was a little small. Was provided two international electric adapters for no deposit required, compared to 6 other hotels we stayed at during this trip all charged deposits for using adapters treating us like potential thieves. Free WiFi. The free breakfast was unbelievable, fresh juices such as watermelon, carrot, fresh preserves and fresh honey dripping right from the honeycomb, large selection of cheeses & breads. I visited the spa for my birthday and had a collagen face mask and foot massage was heavenly, the spa is beautiful, they give you fresh mountain spring water. Ordered room service once and it was delicious down to the last detail. Only issue was it's a bit of a walk to any shops or restaurants but there is a bus stop right by the hotel which takes you everywhere with the free travel card Kempinski gives it's guests. This hotel was the best hotel of our entire trip and I was so impressed by Kempinski that I actually looked through their book of hotels to see what locations they are in so I can be sure to stay at Kempinski again next time. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is conditioned by air (not air conditioned) but that was not a problem. The windows open 2 ways and we felt safe with the windows open all night. Breakfast buffet was excellent, rooms clean and comfortable. Very walkable town - loved listening to the cow bells ringing in the distance from a farm not too far from the hotel. Did not make it up to the upper level of the town but the lower level was nice. Public restrooms throughout the town very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This classic hotel is a real stunner. The Grand has beautiful public rooms with a highly professional and friendly staff. One could not ask for better service or attention to detail. The guest rooms are extremely large and clean with all the modern conveniences for either a business traveler or vacationer. We ate in their dining room and had a first rate meal. The food quality of their room service was equally as good. The morning breakfasts are offered in a huge and cheery dining room with many food offerings to meet everyone's taste.

The Grand has beautiful grounds and sits somewhat separately from the St. Moritz village. So, it is a quiet hotel with no traffic noise to disturb you at night. The hotel gave us free bus/gondola passes as part of our package. It was only a brief walk to catch a variety of buses. No need to rent a car. I say a big thumbs up on the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz

Address: Via Mezdi 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski St. Moritz combines great hotel tradition with modern service. That is why demanding guests feel at home away from home, since more than 140 years. At the three restaurants the classical art of cooking with local products is interpreted in a modern way. The St. Moritz SPA offers Wellness, pool & fitness. Taste the Kempinski 5 star comfort in a relaxed atmosphere in one of our 184 luxurious rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.