We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellaval

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Moritz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bellaval
Save
You added Hotel Bellaval to your Saves list
Via Grevas 55, St. Moritz CH-7500 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a single night before catching the Glacier Express the following morning.

It was a great hotel for this - right next to the train station, relatively cheap by St Moritz standards, clean and comfortable. A good range of options was provided for breakfast and free wifi was available in the lobby.

Give yourself time for a walk along the lake - we had clear weather and the view was stubbing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    73
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
17
79
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi in London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its location close to the railway station and because I knew I would be arriving in St Moritz late at night. My room was clean, comfortable and welcoming after a delayed flight from London and long train journey. All staff I met were friendly and very helpful, breakfast was a buffet with sufficient choice. I had a meal there too one evening which was good, if too much, and the waiter was attentive and efficient.

Although there was no WiFi reception in the rooms, the free internet at reception was fast and I therefore had no problems. My stay was of three nights and I thought the price was incredibly good value for money bearing in mind the location and the type of resort St Moritz is, catering for the rich and famous.

Room Tip: First Floor rooms are best as there is no lift and these still have views over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

i stayed in this "hotel" for only one night, just because the best location - just near the train station, and also the lake. i think the price are cheap comparatively in st moritz, but is the expensive one in my whole trip in swiss. i'm quite impressive about the view - on the third floor, viewed the lake and train station with balcony.
however, i'm cold and wake up after mid-night because the hotel shuted down the central heat. is that tricky? why they turned on the central heat when you check in, when everybody going out, but shuted down at night, especially all of the guests fall asleep, i don't understand.
and that's not truth for "the free wifi in pulbic", i can't connect for trying so long in front of the volter, there's a man keep going to say "don't worry" and holding my hand inappropriately. he said the connection needs some time because we're in the mountain! come on, don't cheat on me, we're not in jungle, or tropical forest, we're in st moritz, in swiss!
so you'll be happy if you have no expectiation for the quality of this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors with balcony, can view the lake and the train station, you can see the glacier express
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Switzerland is very expensive so this hotel is a good deal for what you paid. We got a room with private bathroom & toilet and a small balcony with lake views. Hotel is old but the room is clean and spacious. No lift and Wifi is not available in the room, you have to go downstair @ the reception area. We had dinner @ the restaurant and the food was really good, the price wasn't too bad either ( again for Switzerland). Super close to the train station so it is very convinient for train travellers. Overall, I liked my stay at hotel Bellaval, I would stay there again if I come back to expensive St Moritz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Location is near the train station - perfect or not depending on your travel mode. I had an overnight stay there to catch the Glacier Express and it suited my needs absolutely perfectly. Clean and spotless room. Wifi reception can be poor in the rooms, have to go to the reception area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

There is only one reason you'd stay here, and that is for just one night to catch the Glacier Express, or another scenic train journey, the next morning. It is right next to the station. But it has a very worn and tired look, and if you have one of the rooms on an upper floor it is a long way up with your baggage. Although there is a good balcony view of the lake from some. This hotel badly needs a facelift.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is more than close to the train station! Which is very practical. We had a room with view over the lake and the rails, but in the night there are no trains so it is very quite.
Rooms are very old, small, basic but clean!
When you do a reservation pay attention: NOT ALL ROOMS HAVE TOILETS INSIDE!!!!
NO hairdrier in the rooms, but if you ask at the reception they'll give you one.
NO LIFT!
The restaurant of the hotel has a big various menu...dishes are very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellaval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellaval

Address: Via Grevas 55, St. Moritz CH-7500 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Bellaval Hotel St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellaval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.