We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bypass this #1 ranking!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Soldanella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Soldanella to your Saves list
Soldanella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Somplaz 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bypass this #1 ranking!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Though tripadvisor.com has been a wonderful tool for us in travelling, I must say that this is the first time that I disagree with its #1 choice. In fairness, I do not know about any of the other hotels in St. Moritz but we were rather disappointed.

Prior to arrival, I had a few difficulties in email miscommunications, Then, we pre-paid the large sum to be met at the train station but had to wait, and finally call, before we were picked up (by someone who did not understand a word of English - unusual in a resort village). Other than in our room, the hotel was old and dark (looking as though it has long since past it's days of probable elegance) and the personnel were uninterested. We arrived on a Sunday and I think they were less than 10% occupied - which may be why no one seemed to care if we were there or not. (I should mention the worn and tattered life-sized stuffed polar bear in the reception area which seemed a bit more welcoming...!)

On the positive side, we had a room overlooking the lake with a lovely view, the room was clean and bright, and the breakfast was decent. (However, even the breakfast staff was disappointingly unfriendly.)

I don't intend to be unkind. I value the advice of tripadvisor travellers and want to share our experiences with those in the planning stages of their vacation. (My other reviews have been much more complimentary...even of those facilites which were much less expensive.)

I would recommend bypassing this hotel's #1 ranking if you care about service and atmosphere. But, If you just want a clean room - and even one with a very nice view, this hotel is adaquate and acceptable.

  • Liked — The view of the lake from our room
  • Disliked — The uninterested, unfriendly personnel. (P.S. Their computer was inoperable when we were there in Aug. 07.)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    40
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

If a room with a view is important to you, I don't think you can do better than the Soldanella, especially if you score a SE facing corner room. The town, the lake and the surrounding mountains are unobstructed from these rooms, and town is a short walk from the hotel. But that's pretty much where it ends. St. Moritz is expensive and trying to regain its former status as an exclusive resort, and the Soldanella may still be a bargain from a price point of view if one's expectations are not too high, but its days of glory, save a major restoration, are over. I'm a little puzzled by some of the glowing reviews I have seen here that led me to book this room. Of the five places I've stayed in St. Moritz over the years, except for the view, this was the least impressive.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

This was our favorite hotel of a two week trip. We had a room overlooking the lake. The window opened up, and I took several pictures out the window of the gorgeous view. Even though we were only staying one night, the front desk gave us plenty of information on what to do in the area. We did not particularly enjoy dinner at the restaurant downstairs although the breakfast (included) was decent.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

I can't really add much to the other descriptions of this hotel.
It was comfortable,had lots of character,service was good and the views amazing.We only went to St Moritz to take The Glacier Express to Zermatt (That was great too) but I would love to stay at Soldanella again.

  • Liked — Everything was great
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

This hotel was fantastic. We had a double room overlooking the lake which gave us a phenomenal view. The room was clean with comfortable, warm, cozy beds and I got a very good night's sleep there.

Breakfast was great with assorted meats, cheeses, cereals and pastries. The waiter was wearing a tuxedo.

There is a bar and restaraunt in house but I did not utilize these services except for the breakfast buffet.

The desk clerk was helpful in finding a restaurant in our price range and gave good directions to a nearby grocery store.

This hotel is within reasonable walking distance from the train station.

If you stay here you will be very happy.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

We stayed here in mid-September, followinfg a week in Paris, a week on a barge in the Burgundy area, and a few days in Murren, Switzerland. The Hotel Soldanella proved a great choice. It was a short cab ride from the St Moritz train station. It is a relatively short walk to the main upper-end shopping area, to the lakeside, to restaurants, and to other sights in St Moritz. The rooms ourselves and our friends enjoyed were very very nice...lake side; great beds; nice sitting areas by the large windows looking down on the lake; seperate large bathrooms, and double sinks; in-room mini-fridge. The hotel is well maintained, while retaining its 102 year old charm. The restaurant served a quality dinner. The breakfasts were at no extra charge, and offered quality cheeses, breads and rolls, jams, cerials, juices and coffee. The bar containing much Cresta memorabilia was comfortable and warm. Most all of the staff were very, very good, gracious and helpful. The only exception was the young lady at the front desk during the evenings. She seemed distracted and too busy worrying about her looks. All in all....a great place to stay in St Moritz!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

Our trip to St. Moritz this past July was obviously not to try out the Ski Lifts or to sip Hot Cocoa. Rather, we wanted to visit a part of Switzerland that we were told would be radically different from the better known western part.

As so called "Baby Boomers" who spent much of our childhood summers in the mountains north of New York City among wooden buildings with wide front porches over looking pristine lakes and streams, St. Moritz in the summer was like a "time warp", bringing us back to those quieter days.

Our stay at the Hotel Soldanella helped make our brief visit all the more pleasant. This quaint 100+ year old Hotel with a "period" decor to match its age, afforded us all the delights that St. Moritz itself personified...tranquility, beauty, friendliness.
Our room alone was something to "write home about". Ultra comfortable bed, plenty of space and a unique layout that cannot be written about but should be experienced...but only if one gets a room whose number ends in "6".

Their dining room served a traditional breakfast but we also opted for the very good , reasonably priced Prix Fix Dinner served by Antonio, the waiter who was extremely courteous.

We were truly "sold" on this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soldanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soldanella

Address: Via Somplaz 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Soldanella 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Soldanella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soldanella St Moritz
Soldanella Hotel St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soldanella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.