We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Champfer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Suot Chesas 9 | Champfer, St. Moritz CH 7512, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 32 hotels in St. Moritz
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cold Champfer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had booked Europa hoping and expecting a unique hotel experience . What we received was a very polite but cold,business like reception.Had heard a lot about the hotel but was let down. Our Room on the second floor was comfortable and "Teaky" with a neat bathroom without any toiletries or even a dental kit. We got no view of the famed Swiss peaks or lakes.instead Ugly boxlike structures being constructed infront of our room(some kind of office blocks or apartments) . Breakfast was a fairly large spread however without any warmth or hospitality feel !!! Not an easy place to reach after getting off the Glacier Express, although we were ,very reluctantly,dropped off to the railway station on our way back in the hotel shuttle . Anyways it isnt actually St. Moritz . It is Champfer-a suburb of St.Moritz.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
18
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kongsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having in mind St. Moritz is the pricy high roller hot spot, this hotel is one of the more affordable hotels. Most hotels in St. Moritz are large, so is this one - so if you are looking for a cosy, and charming place, perhaps one should look elsewhere. A bit unnessesary that wi-fi was extra charge, but free parking was appreciated. The room was standard, clean, friendly staff, and breakfast was included. In short, the typical hotel - nothing special.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marly-le-Roi, France
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located outside of St Moritz in the village of Champfer, the Hotel Europa is a very good value. The daily room rate includes an amazing breakfast buffet complete with eggs, cold cuts, cheese, cereals, croissants and on and on and a five-course dinner. The dinners are quite impressive: on certain days there could be a seafood buffet as a starter and on another day a dessert buffet, both amazing. Through the hotel, one can purchase a daily ski pass for only 25€ (with a 6 day minimum). There is a nice pool, sauna and jacuzzi which are most welcome after a day of skiing. Attending a reunion of high school friends, I booked a single room and was pleasantly surprised as mine was recently renovated. It was lovely with oak floors, oak paneling and a small deck. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I must say i was very disappointed with my stay at Hotel Europa: I arrived very late on a Sunday, covered in snow (for a Brazilian , it is quite a picture!) and hungry! the receptionist was colder than the snow: hardly looking at me, she was obsessed with something in the computer, gave me my key, told me the restaurant has just closed and i should eat in the "morning" (?!)
Unfortunately, other staff from the hotel were a little bit rude as well, but there are other people like the German guy helping with the transfer and one of the italian receptionist who were very nice and helpful...
The rooms are nice, but very small, the heating system can be a little bit troublesome and the internet has an outrageous price in the rooms! Breakfast is only ok, but the window view is astonishing; dinner was nice, but the price of water and non-alcohol beverages seemed an extorsion..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, I spent five nights in this hotel and I do not recommend it for anyone. Terrible service (complete lack of hospitality and cordiality) from the staff in the reception to the restaurant, that make you fell not welcome at all. Don't expect help with your lugagge or any kind of orientation. The hotel is not in St. Moritz actually but in Champfer (3 km away) and the buses to get there are not so frequent per hour. My room was very outdated, the shower douche was broken (Pointing only to the wall and to shower you had to hold it up all bath time long), the shutter curtains did not close completely because they were also broke and the two light spots in front of the only mirror in the room were burnout! The restaurant, oh, I got the half board option that was supposed to include a 5 course menu: don't waste your money with this low quality food and very expensive wine menu (that is not included in the price) - a bottle of a local wine that you would find for 4 euro in any supermarket there was 22, in reality you are even going to be charged for a glass of tap water! The breakfest will only offer you a minimal variety if you arrive early (up to 8) otherwise there will be lacking a lot of foods, and most of the left are low quality. There is no free wireless internet. Finally, I was very suprised in a negative way in how a Swiss Hotel - that is said to be 4 star (but it is not for sure!) treat your guests. Don't recommended: look for otherwise hotels in the area that are beterraba ranked on tripadvisor and don't waste your money on this one.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Moritz-Dorf, Graubunden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Its very nice and good service hotel in St. Moritz. City centrum its few minutes to drive. But its ski lifts to same Piz Nair mountain from hotel area too. Parking its on roof of hotel free of charge.
Rooms, food, internet, business, fun area in lobby, SPA everything functions very good. Very exciting SPA area, sports gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, adult (from 17YO) baths area (clothing optional) are exciting. We feel like in old Roman Baths there. Very nice and romantic. Refreshing. Nature pictures from Lake side rooms and restaurants are fantastic day and night. Recomendation to visit Kings Club (Disco) at night.

Room Tip: Lake side. Its fantastic nature panorama outside windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently visited St Moritz with the Glacier Express. The hotel is about 3 km from the station but there is a hotel bus that will pick you up. The hotel also provides free bus tickets for guests during their stay. The hotel staff are very nice and helpful and the facilities are extremely clean. The swimming pool and hot pool are also very nice. Although there are confusing corridors and two lifts to take the 5th floor we found it was a nice hotel. The only criticism is that the bed mattress is very hard. The bed in the room allocated was a pull down bed from the wall furniture and whether you sat on it or turned over in it - it tended to creak loudly. For people with allergies, please be aware the the pillows on the beds have feathers.

Room Tip: The fifth floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Suot Chesas 9 | Champfer, St. Moritz CH 7512, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.