We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schweizerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Schweizerhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dal Bagn 54 | Dorf, St. Moritz CH-7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed one night, part of a packaged tour.

On entry the hotel foyer looks simple and small, however if you move in further, there is a lounge area which is quite comfortable where guests can chill out. Our guide was very efficient and got the keys out to us quickly. There is only 1 lift and can only accommodate 3-4 people. with luggage. So we had to wait for awhile before we could get into our room.

The room and bathroom was of a decent size, clean, modern and comfortable. We were provided with bathrobes and extra pillows. We had a balcony overlooking the lake. We enjoyed the beautiful view in the morning, sitting in the balcony chairs.

The breakfast was enjoyable and of a decent spread. Dinner was served in the hotel. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The hotel is in a central location, close to many shops, which by the time we checked in, the shops have already closed. As we were here for one night only, we did not see enough of St Moritz or the lake.

We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Gatto Melaka
Thank you very much for you informative comment about the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz.
Best regards
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    52
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
55
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I Have been here for a romantic weekend, i took the Bernina espress train And from St. Moritz train station it is pretty well connected through a escalator. Well the hotel offers free pick up and drop off from/to the train station. The hotel is in the Dorf part of the city which is nicer and it dominates the main square. You are just off the pedestrian area with all the major shops. Few meters from the Cablecar. Definitely great location.
The hotel itself is nice, very luxiourus dining room, excellent breakfast with plenty of choice, rooms are very comfortable with free mini bar. Very nice is the relaxation room with lake view terrace.. Superb!
People at the reception are very friendly however they do not speak English very well and for a 4 star hotel this is not acceptable.
There is a nice pub with live music at the -1 floor good music the only pity is that it is a free smoking area which is not nice if you don't smoke.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for your stay in st moritz if you want be at the very centre of the city, you might found better value accommodation around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Gironaut

Thank you very much for your comment about your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. We are happy that you felt well at your stay with your wife for your romantic weekend. But we are very sorry about the less service at the front desk during your stay. May we get a chance in another occasion?

Best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer, Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour. I think it was a good choice. There were beautiful views of the lake from the dining room. Our room faced the mountains that made up the closest ski slopes and the town roundabout. It was also a beautiful view. The room was nice, clean, modern and the bathroom was large with daylight windows along one wall----never had a hotel bathroom like that before---really liked it. There is no air conditioning at this hotel. Usually that is a big negative for me. However, we were there in early to mid June and the weather was cool enough that it was not a problem. We just kept the windows open. That also wasn't a problem at night as the town is quiet this time of year. Some of the others on our tour did not seem as happy with their rooms. I guess there is a big variety. If you have an opportunity, ask to see your room before you accept it. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection. The location is great as you can walk to anything you would want to see. A walk around the Lake is a must. As others have said, there is not much to do in St. Moritz at that time of year. However, just being there with access to the Bernini Express and the Glacier Express was enough for me.It was just beautiful!

Finally, must comment about the front desk staff. They were very curt to the point of almost being rude. They had a very condescending manner. I believe they do not like dealing with tour groups. It is unfortunate that they don't seem to appreciate that these tours keep them in business during these off season times. Other staff were nice enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sharon WS1982
Thank you very much for your comment about your visit to St. Moritz in June. We are very glad that you loved our Hotel Schweizerhof. And we feel very sorry that you do not have such a good expression about our reception staff. Groups are part of our summer business and group guest are the same guest as individual travellers. We spoked to our Reception Team and we trained them once again in friendliness.

Best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer, Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here as part of a bus tour and found virtually all of St Moritz was closed as we were between seasons. Luckily the restaurant and patisserie at the Hauser Hotel opposite were open and we had an excellent dinner and some delicious snacks. Other than that, there was little to see and do in the town except to walk around. But staying here allowed us to catch the Bernina Express and the Glacier Express, both of which were wonderful.
The hotel itself has a very small foyer but a rather grand lounge beyond where we could have coffee or a drink. Our bedroom was a little character-less but was on a corner overlooking the lake and the town, and it was lovely to lie in bed in the morning and look out at the mountains. The storage and bathroom were very good and the buffet breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Saladi
Thank you very much for you wonderful comment about the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. We are very glad, that you had been happy with your stay at St. Moritz
May we can host you in another occasion.
Yvonne Urban an Martin Scherer, Manager
and the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed 3nights from 5th.June.2013. A week past since when I back to work. The days we stayed at this hotel were good memory.
First of all,I appreciate hotel's warm service.
1. We didn't need to bring our heavy suitcases(We informed hotel staff about our arrival time,hotel staff kindly came to the train station.)
2.It was not mid summer,we can use minibar free of charge!!
3.We didn't reserve lake view room,but our room was lake view room.It was so wonderful!! And of course, the room was clean and comfortable.
4.Breakfast was so good.I like tea,and I can choose many kinds of tea.
We have stayed 5 star hotels,this hotel's service was as good as 5 star hotel's.
There are sevral 5 star hotels in St.Moritz,but we'd like to choose this hotel again!
To hotel staff,Thank you again for your kindness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Shibainuzuki

Thank you very much for your compliments about your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. We are very happy that you enjoyed the time you spent in our Hotel. It's always a pleasure for us if we have the possibility to give the guest an upgrade to a higher category of the booked room. Thank you again and may we see us in an other occasion in St. Moritz

Yvonne Urban Scherer and Martin Scherer
with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our tour group back in May 2013. The hotel is a little dated, especially the washroom. You had to use an actual key to open the door. Room was clean and beds were somewhat comfortAble. The Internet reception was horrible. Good selection at breakfast. All the stores were closed when we were in St. Moritz so the only highlight of our stay was the dinner in the hotel. Overall we had a comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear ttc_8

Thank you very much for your comment about your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry for your feeling about the standart of our hotel. Every year we spend time and money in renovation of our proprety. To have an actual key to open the door of the rooms was decided two years ago. We had the idea to give the guests the real feeling of a key in a traditional hotel.

Thank you very much for your compliment about the food and the breakfast. Unfortunatly not all of the shop's in St. Moritz have the idea of a public service an be open the hole year. We are sorry for this.

Best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Firstly, the checking in procedure was bizarre! We were travelling on a group tour and the hotel requested that we stay on the coach until our Tour Leader had collected cards from Reception which showed our room number - they didn't want us to come in and crowd the Reception area. We were handed our cards, then promptly all trooped into Reception to collect our keys anyway.

Our room was small and the bathroom very cosy. However, the room was very clean and the bed comfortable and fortunately an opening window, which provided relief from the over heated room.

We decided on a drink in the bar prior to dinner - what a joke! The barman was so slow, it was painful to watch him. He didn't seem to know where anything was kept and kept opening and closing doors. My husband asked for a beer and a red wine, after some searching, he replied "I don't know where the red wine is"!?

Fortunately, once in the dining room, Harold, who was very friendly and helpful, managed to find some red wine. Dinner was an experience - I've never been served soup in a teacup (complete with saucer) before. Serves were small and very ordinary.

Things didn't improve at breakfast. The food area is poorly laid out and "traffic jams" everywhere. There was a station for supposedly freshly cooked omelettes, etc., I say supposedly, as although all the ingredients were there prepared to go, the cook wasn't! He didn't turn up until an hour after breakfast started. I understand that things can get a bit chaotic when catering to groups, but hey it wasn't like we were not expected. All in all, a disappointing experience, I honestly can't see how this is a four star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valery037

Thank you very much, that you took the time to write down your expressions about your stay at the hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. We feel very sorry about the service you got during your St. moritz visit.

Your never get a second chance to make a first impression. Over all we did not take the chance to give you and the other member of your group a good feeling for your stay at the Schweizerhof. This is not an excuse, this is just a passed chance of all of us!

We defently can do it better. If not for you, may we lernd for the future and for other guest.
Thank you for understanding and best regards
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Address: Via dal Bagn 54 | Dorf, St. Moritz CH-7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hotel Schweizerhof" is located at the very heart of St. Moritz. Open all year, with a superior ranking and it is family-owned. Our guests are seeking relaxation, they are nature and golf lovers, like to bike and hike as well as business travelers.

Our 82 rooms and junior suites are modern, bright and friendly on 5 floors with a fantastic view. The seminar and banquet rooms offer contemporary comfort and feature the latest technology and equipment. Our specialty restaurant, "Acla" and the garden terrace, "Acla Giardino" are the place to go for gourmets and lovers of the classic Wiener Schnitzel. Good entertainment and nightlife are guaranteed at our very popular bars with live music. And our mountain cabin Clavadatsch provides you with a delightful view and local dishes during the day in winter and can be turned into the party location for you all year round. All our rooms are non smoking rooms. Smokers are welcome at the smoking room "Library", the "Piano Bar", the "Stübli" and in winter at the "Muli Bar" as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel St. Moritz
Schweizerhof St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schweizerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.