We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the crown , excellent view,friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhaus Am See Hotel

Save Saved
You added Waldhaus Am See Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waldhaus Am See Hotel
Via Dimlei 6, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 hotels in St. Moritz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gem in the crown , excellent view,friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Firstly i would like to thank mr joe, merlyn, patriacha for their friendly helpful nature . We stayed in room 710& 711 with an excellent scenario , neat atmosphere . This hotel has wonderful restaurant with delicious breakfast !!! I would like to visit this place again & again .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    11
    9
    1
See reviews for
10
48
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed for 3nights, we had a lovely view of the lake from our room. The beds were comfortable and the room very clean-also the bathroom which was well equipped with hair dryer and plenty of storage units. There was a T.V., safe and a fridge in the room. We also had free WiFi in our room, and although it was very cold outside -6, the room was very warm.
We used the sauna & steam room, also free to guests.
Our room rate package included breakfast buffet, which was very good, and dinner which was however rather disappointing. The hotel restaurant is quite large with bright lighting and was very busy- definitely not the venue for a romantic or cosy evening! Adequate for a large group or family just looking to eat (there was a self service salad bar) but we found the dinners almost cafeteria type and the service (although polite) a little hurried. Due to this we ate out on the last evening and the hotel refunded us CHF 20 per person for not having taken dinner.
We hoped to experience the whiskey bar, which is advertised to have the largest selection, however it was so crowded and very smokey we just couldn't stay in there.
We did enjoy our stay at the Waldhaus am See, and the staff were very pleasant. Great
lake views and would be perfect for walking in the summer, but next time I would ask for a B&B rate only. The lack of atmosphere in the restaurant and the "package dinner"in the evening really is the only thing that was disappointing with our stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a lake view. There are also rooms on the ground floor if accessibility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

In a place where everything is very expensive this hotel is real value for money. The hotel is located conveniently close to the train station and 10 minutes walk to the center of town. We occupied a family room that was simple but comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is uniquely located at the lakeshore and has an awesome view of the lake and St. Moritz. Combination of price and location are unbeatable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Great location! 3 min walk from train station.
Great food! The restaurant is awesome with awesome view!!!
Friendly people, you can get whatever about St. Moritz from them.
Good Price!
Comfortable and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed two nights at Hotel Waldhaus-am-See, St Moritz, last May 2011. We chose this hotel for its unique location with its great views of the lake and alps. The hotel’s minibus picking us up from the nearby station and on return was much appreciated.

Our Lakeview room, on the first floor, had access to a small deck overlooking the lake. Our room was clean and comfortable, with plenty of storage in the foyer, and the bathroom had enough space.

The highlight was the restaurant with its wonderful views of the lake, the town, and the mountains. Full-width windows, chandeliers with white linen, silver and flowers on the table set the tone.

The breakfast buffet was unbelievable with a vast array of food and drinks. We had never seen an egg boiler before, but it worked very well. You pop the egg into a wire scoop with handle hooked over the edge of an appliance with boiling water. By the time you select the rest of your breakfast, the hard boiled eggs are done to perfection. There were also small frypans on hot plates, if you preferred scrambled eggs. The quality and variety of the bread, jams, cheese, meat slices, etc were superb. The cheese was presented in a cheese wagon in the shape of a round hard cheese.

The set menu at night was excellent value with very good service.

There is a path from the hotel down to the lake for an easy stroll around the lake. The hotel is close to the railway station and bus-stop.

Room Tip: There is a lift so ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor room with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

Outside of the nice lake view this hotel is as simple as things get for St Moritz. Each room comes with a VHS player and CDs from the early 80s, including Ike and Tine Turner.

Rooms are small, basic with little thought gor design. But if price and location are your two goals then it's one of the few options.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Was doing a day trip from Milan to St. Moritz, but ended up staying the night here after sampling too many scotches and wine.

Went here originally to get dinner with a view (this is one of the only restaurants/hotels with an unobstructed view of the lake). When I arrived, I started talking to the man behind the bar, who showed me the "book" of scotches that they had available. After sampling a few of the scotches, learned the man's name was Pascal. Moved from the bar to the restaurant and had an awesome small format bottle of Les Carmes Haut Brion. Then, moved on to the meal having Veal Gordon Blue. Finished up with a dessert wine, which I barely remember.

The room was adequate, but not luxurious by any means. Lots of storage space and closets, which would be handy if I actually had luggage. But could see how this would be great during the ski season with a family. The king bed was 2 single beds pushed together, and it they each had a headboard and foot board...which means at 6'3", I was not able to fit into the bed lengthwise. Normally, my feet hang off the end of such short beds, but the foot board impeded this. Ended up turning sideways half-way through the night, and slept well the rest of the night.

Overall, great experience. I would highly recommend. If you go here, say "hi" to Pascal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldhaus Am See Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhaus Am See Hotel

Address: Via Dimlei 6, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Waldhaus Am See Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waldhaus Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhaus Am See Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.