We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hausers west end studio apartment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hauser Hotel St. Moritz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hauser Hotel St. Moritz to your Saves list
Hauser Hotel St. Moritz
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Traunter Plazzas 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“hausers west end studio apartment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in Hauser’s studio apartment for 3 nights in July (Friday-Monday) as part of a 17 night trip through Italy and Switzerland (In addition to their hotel the Hauser has 2 apartments to rent.) We chose this primarily because of price and location. Hotels are so expensive in St. Moritz, and we thought it would be nice to have a kitchenette. Of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip this is the only one I would not return to. It’s not that it was bad, but it was really basic and weekend nights it was very loud with people partying outside until 2 or 3 AM. It was not so loud after 11 on Sunday night. There is no AC so you have to keep the windows open or it gets very hot. There is a bar across the street with live music and it got really loud with people yelling. It has a Murphy bed, table and chairs, and one other chair. It would have been nice to have 2 comfortable chairs. We did use the refrigerator but nothing else in the kitchenette.
Aside from the noise, the location was good. It’s right in the middle of the town so it is convenient to everything. Our other option was going to be the Piz in St. Moritz Bad, and we may have liked that better, but it is a walk to get into St Moritz Dorf or you could take a bus, which runs pretty frequently.
The Hauser staff were nice enough, but I had to go back and ask after checking in for our pass that let us on the cable cars, busses, etc for free. They should have given these passes to us when we checked in without us having to ask. If we hadn’t known about it we would have spent over 200 CHF on cable cars, etc. I suggest that if you go to St. Moritz, stay 2 nights or more and look for this promotion that includes free local transport. It saved us a bundle.
St. Moritz is extremely expensive, but it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. I would return in a heartbeat. I think staying in town the first time is good, but next time I would stay in one of the little towns on the bus route, like Pontresina, or Celerina, or Sils, somewhere quieter and then take the bus into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear nottnott ,
many thanks for your review. This helps us to get better. The Westend appartements look on to two bars, this is right and they can be noisy. But the appartements have the best view one can imagine. We offer to everybody that stays two nights immediately the tickets for public transport and the montain railways. Sorry that we have not done this with you straight away. There was no intention. A/C is not a standard at all in the mountains on 1800 m sealevel. We will never install A/C. Too much energy spillage.
Glad you liked the place and you have the intention to return. Come back and stay at the Hauser Hotel. No kitchenette but : the HAUSER. Best regards Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    133
    30
    1
    4
See reviews for
65
113
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This place is great. Family run and very friendly. The rooms are a little small and the elevator is tiny. Only room for one person with minimal luggage.

The hot plate dinner is good and lots of fun. Try the horse and kangaroo. They also have an after dinner drink made with herbs and roots.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear sailor1502
Many thanks for your words. We must be the perfect place to stay for you. Come back and enjoy ! Have you been here for the St. Moritz Match Race? Great event. See you next year.
Best regards Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Hauser hotel seems to be one of the better value hotels in St Moritz. We were pleasantly surprised to be picked up at the railway station by the Hotel taxi. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably spacious. Breakfast is served in the Restaurant, and is very good. Location is good, especially when using the long escalator to get to the lake and station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi and hello to "OneBigLongHoliday"
many thanks for your comment. We appreciate. All the best and see you again.
Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

In one word: very good sport hotel

Pros:
- location (close to shops and transports)
- free wi-fi
- breakfast
- restaurant
- price
- no smoking hotel
- free shuttle from train station

Cons:
- no A/C
- small (single) room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Marco_Mazzei
Thank you for your comment.
Indeed we are what you described: "a very good sport hotel". You are right, our single rooms are not the biggest. But compare the rates! Where do you find a single room at the half rate of a twin/double room? At the Hauser! A/C is not a standard, we live on 1800 m above sea level and we try to reduce this spillage of energy. See you soon again. Best regards Markus Hauser. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

good location, close to city center. however, reception could have been more helpful to tourists. decent noise from below so we had to keep windows shut at night. elevator was very old fashioned and once was stuck for 10 minutes while we were inside. they say free transportation to train station at checkout. however, i was told it starts from 8 am and so had to get a taxi for 7am train.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's an expensive area. We stayed there in July. Off season for a ski resort. Still expensive but with a 2 night stay we got all local transportation, free ride on the train to ski lift and glacier, ride up the ski lift, and breakfast buffet. Service was very good in a beautiful area. All of Switzerland is expensive. It seemed everything cost twice of what it did in Germany.

Room Tip: Ask for condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I just liked this hotel.....it felt very homely and relaxed. The rooms were not that large, but the bathroom was beautiful and the beds comfy. The food was really good - great selection at breakfast-time and loved the live music on the night we ate there. Would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hauser Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hauser Hotel St. Moritz

Address: Via Traunter Plazzas 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hauser Hotel St. Moritz 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel offers modern comforts, restaurant, patisserie, and bar; located in town center with views to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hauser Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauser Hotel St Moritz
Hauser Resort St Moritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.