We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but functional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Franco

Save Saved
You added Casa Franco to your Saves list
Casa Franco
Casa Franco
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Franco
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via Sela 11 | 200 m from Hotel Sonne, St. Moritz CH-7500, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 St. Moritz B&B and Inns
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simple, but functional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is very utilitarian. For a budget traveller, it's clean, a decent size and will provide a good night's sleep. There's no concierge at Casa Franco, and check in and breakfast is at Hotel Sonne. The breakfast at Hotel Sonne is to amazing. WiFi and available computers are at Hotel Sonne as well. This was a good stay for the price, considering you are in St. Moritz where prices can go sky high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 for one night. We booked a room for three people and the room itself was very large although smelt very musty due to the wooden celling. The lift was also not in use and we were on the top floor so carrying luggage was not the easiest.

Booking stated there was also free wi-fi although there was no wi-fi at all in the apartment building.

As with most of Switzerland the room was very expensive for what it is. The only real good thing about the stay was the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

...in St Moritz getting something reasonable is a challenge...Casa Franco has good rooms at a decent price. The lake is just 5 minutes away...The reception and check in is at Hotel Sonne which is some 200 metres away......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night after travelling on the Glacier Express and it turned out to be the worst place we stayed at during our whole Europe trip. We selected it on price and, quite frankly, if we had our time over again, we'd go a step higher price-wise since the room was just SO basic and old that we didn't enjoy our stay. Firstly, we lugged our bags to the building only to find that we had to go to a different building to find reception. Next, we went to the wrong building since there are three buildings altogether and there's no sign anywhere directing you to reception (we finally found the reception located behind the restaurant.) Then we had to lug our bags along a poorly maintained road back to the original building only to find that the keys didn't open the door. Back to reception we went where we were given the correct key and no apology.

The room was small, dumpy and old. Having said that, it was clean. The meal at the restaurant was very good and we were able to gain access to the computers that were located in the more expensive accommodation building. That building seemed much nicer.

We were terribly disappointed with St Moritz. We took a walk around the lake into town. It was about 7:30pm and NOTHING was open. It felt like a ghost town and had no atmosphere at all. The town has an all-night bus service but we couldn't understand why since nothing's open. We were glad in the morning to leave St Moritz and return to civilization. Having said that, the train trip from St Moritz to Chur is outstandingly beautiful.

After staying here, my husband and I have now adopted the habit of calling anything sub-standard or of poor quality, 'a Casa Franco' so at least we can get a laugh out of the experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

First things, first - Casa Franco is as a basic as it gets. It's a three star hotel and there aren't any bells and whistles. BUT - being that this is Switzerland, it's clean and comfy and most of all, affordable.

We checked in at Hotel Sonne, which is a small, family owned establishment right next door. Hotel Sonne has a locked ski room, where we stored out gear (which coincidentally, we didn't get to use given the unseasonably warm temperatures and lack of snow). Casa Franco was about 200 meters away. The hotel is very basic - there is no bling here - but the beds were lovely with feather duvets and pillows. The room had a small TV, alarm clock, small table and chairs, and a full bathroom. Each room had a small balcony and there were two chairs out there in case we wanted to sit out in the brisk weather.

Breakfast was included in our room fee and it was served in the Hotel Sonne. It was a nice spread with cheeses, fresh bread, jams, cereals, meats, and juices. The restaurant at Hotel Sonne was a family establishment and the menu for lunch and dinner looked really wonderful, but we didn't try it other than breakfast and a drink.

Though the hotel is not in the center of St. Mortiz, there is a bus stop which runs frequently outside of the hotel. The bus ride is about five minutes to the center of town.

St. Moritz is crawling with high-end labels and fancy hotels, but it's nice to see there is a good, basic, family-owned establishment for those of us who are part of the 99%.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Franco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Franco

Address: Via Sela 11 | 200 m from Hotel Sonne, St. Moritz CH-7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Franco 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Casa Franco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Franco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.