We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On top of the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Corvatsch

Mount Corvatsch
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 attractions in St. Moritz
Type: Mountains
Attraction Details
Itala, Italy
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“On top of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

You need your ski pass to get up there at 3058m. The views are spectacular. Eat at the restaurant Piz Nair (expensive) but the view more than makes up for it. The whole of the Engadin Valley lies before you. Only go on a sunny day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful panorama! Terrible restaurant rude service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

The panorama over the Swiss mountains is wonderful, definitely go up there to take pictures and enjoy the sun for a bit! But i highly do DO NOT recommend to spend a penny on the restaurant! The Rösti with bratwurst and onion gravy was obviously heated package food for the price of 21 Swiss francs... Bad. The coffees we had after where good. But the personal is fairly nice and the chef is a clown. So go up there enjoy the view. But go eat in one of the cozy little restaurant a long the ski slope! Which are more charming have better food and chef who is not full of himself and his fast food kitchen!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Exhilirating and breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

During our visit to St. Moritz, we went to the Corvatsch. Thanks to the concierge at Badrutt's Palace, we were driven to Silvaplana (another beautiful area with gorgeous lakes) at the base of the Corvatsch and then took the cable up. We were told 'make sure you take the steps to the top'. And glad we did that! From the top, you will have a 360 degree view that will take your breath away. And yes, as the clouds cleared, we could actually see the Matterhorn in the distance. We also recommend the Corvatsch restaurant. We had a lite bite with coffee to warm us up after being outside for some time. Highly recommend the restaurant. The altitude over 10,000 feet can take some adjustment but it is all worth it. Truly stunning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

View from the top of the corvatsch is fantastic, on a good clear day you can see all the way over the Matterhorn and Monte Rosa. The two cable cars are a pretty quick ride to the top leaving every 20 mins. We ate lunch up the top, not at the restaurant but it looked good. If you are coming from St Moritz on the bus make sure to check the timetable as the bus back only goes every hour. Worth a visit especially with the local access from hotels that give your a free ride !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went up to the top of Mount Corvatsch via the cable car. The cable car goes mid way where you could also stop to do some viewing, hiking or you could immediately transfer to another cable car that will bring you to the top. The view at the top is awesome- surrounded by snow capped mountains. Even in late August, it was chilly so bring a jacket. There is a restaurant at the top where we had the traditional barley soup and it was very good. We stayed in the Allegra hotel and they gave us free passes to the cable car rides in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Corvatsch also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Mount Corvatsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Corvatsch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mount Corvatsch to your Saves list