We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allegra engadina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muottas Muragl

Muottas Muragl
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in St. Moritz
Attraction details
St. Moritz, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Allegra engadina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

the restaurant has a magnificent view of the mountains. the winter descent with sled is unforgettable!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    56
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Heavenly Muottas Muragl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Took a tram or Bahn up on the mountain around 10 minutes which the ticket price 33.-CHF

It was absolutely amazing view from the mountain down to the town below, very nice place to take photos and hike I can just sit there and watching the view all day long.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our crazy hike from Muottas muragl to Alp languard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Muottas Muragl is an excellent place to visit when you're in St. Moritz because you basically get a view of everything! We took the cograilway up to muottas muragl, spent some time taking photos there before beginning our hike. Be sure to be there by noon because you might take some time to hike.

The thing is, I read only that we could hike from Muottas Muragl to Alp Languard and it will merely take us about 2.5 hours, which I thought was wow, rather do-able. So we did. And we did not expect that we would be so high up. Most of the pathway is flat and wide but my partner who was afraid of heights really had a problem of doing this hike. Basically, you need to know what you're getting into before you venture on your hike because it may sound easy for the average person. but if you're bringing children, eldery or people afraid of heights, you're gonna have a problem.

If you fall on one side, you'd die, just like that. So be careful, and if you can, grab some hiking sticks from your hotel and make sure you have food and water before going because once you start, there's no stopping. Our hike got pretty scary at one point where the road became really steep and uncomfortable (that was the only scary part for me).

if you're afraid of heights, try another route, or maybe skip the hiking. When we finished, we were so relieved, and kind of amazed that we made it. That restaurant at Alp Languard was pretty darn amazing too! If you're able to, do the hiking, but know your limits. I'm still glad we did it, because we got to see some really amazing panoramic views. Make sure to give yourself time as the chairlift back down to earth ends at about 530pm.

Good luck!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The views are just stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The cogwheel all the way up to the top and then short hike routes to go further up the mountains are fabulous. The views from up there on a clear day will definitely beat the views from any other popular attraction in Switzerland.

Do not miss this if you're in St. Moritz. It can be done in around 3 hours. We went there late in the evening but still was worth the visit. The cogwheel train was quite steep. The crowd was very less (which was ideal for us :-).

ATTENTION: After 7PM, the buses that take you back to St. Moritz from Punt Muragl Talstation are very few (I guess every 56th minute of the hour). We waited for quite some time before we boarded a bus back to town. Better plan your return journey before going up (you can check the bus schedule near the bus stop)

ATTENTION 2: Swiss Pass or any other kind of pass is NOT VALID for this attraction.

Summary: Stunning views; beautiful restaurant; enjoyable train ride. A good evening activity.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camax747
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best View in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The outdoor seating has the best view in Switzerland. Overlooking the Engadine, it is the most beautiful view. The food is a bit pricey but the view makes it all worth while.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muottas Muragl also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Muottas Muragl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muottas Muragl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.