We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expansive views of Engadine and beyond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muottas Muragl

Muottas Muragl
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 attractions in St. Moritz
Type: Lookouts
Attraction Details
NE USA
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Expansive views of Engadine and beyond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice cog train ride up the mountain. We were able to get transportation pass, as part of our Prontresina Hotel Engadinerhof package, so our round trip fee was covered. Casual ride up (noticed the use of the solar panels along the cog train rails). Fantastic views from atop of the world; no photo does it justice. We were blessed with perfect weather and expansive panoramic views of the upper Engadine valley - you can see out to St. Moritz and beyond.
A wedding party was just leaving; so an added celebratory excitement.
There are several walking and hiking paths - one sure to fit your schedule. I wish we had more time to experience the gorgeous surroundings, and hike from Muottas Muragl to Alp Languard.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    38
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice starting point for hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

from the station we hiked up to Lej Muragl, a nice mountain lake (about 1.4-2h round hike) and then went directly on to the Panoramaweg (about another 2h)- which gives you gorgeous views over the valley and the lakes (it's always a broad path but sometimes goes down quite steep on one side, which can be a bit of an issue with ppl with fear of hights - but it's still doable). We then took the chairlift down to Pontresina at Alp Languard.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The views down the valley from this place are magical on a clear day, but appreciate it is an expensive business. We were fortunate enough to do it for free (all inclusive card from your hotel if you qualify) - not sure I would pay full whack though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Perfect views, perfect hike., easy to access by bus....
Muottas Muragl is definetely a MUST in StMoritz!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Bond movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Amazing place to go & have lunch. You feel like you're in a Bond movie - stunning mountain location, gliders flying overhead, cocktails...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muottas Muragl also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Muottas Muragl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muottas Muragl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.