We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piz St. Moritz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Piz St. Moritz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Via Dal Bagn 6, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland (Formerly The Piz B&B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 St. Moritz B&B and Inns
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good pizza, Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place was recommended by a bus driver in St. Moritz as a place where locals go for drinks and pizza. We ate dinner and had great pizza for good value. The wine list had lots of good options without spending a ridiculous amount. The staff was really great, especially after a long, tiring day of hiking in the Alps. We did not stay overnight and just glanced in the bar. We'll have to come back and spend the night next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
52
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

By St Moritz standards, this is a very affordable place. We stayed in the really slow shoulder season and it still cost around $200/night, including breakfast and lift tickets to Diavolezza. The staff was always helpful in guiding us to things to do and the rooms were very clean.

The pizzeria downstairs offered very good pizzas and we ended up eating there for both our nights. This worked out great since St Moritz is pretty close to a ghost town in May. The lake is right across the street behind the Piz and is offers great views of this legendary ski town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

In the expensive town of St Moritz is The Piz. We stayed in a room that was 180 CHF that was well-equipped and comfortable.

The included breakfast the next morning was much nicer than the average B&B.

The location is also a very nice bonus to much of the town.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: We had very good communication with staff before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a new, small hotel. Very modern and clean. I would certainly call this a Boutique hotel! We booked a lakeside room (#154) and were surprised that lakeside did not mean lake VIEW...but we had a nice view of the historic St Moritz' "leaning tower." We were also surprised to see that in mid-September it had snowed last night!
154 is plenty roomy, comfy beds and down quilts & pillows. TV and a sofa. There is a WC AND a full bath. The tile floors in the bathroom are heated!
If you leave the hotel and turn right, walk about 15 minutes and you are in old St Moritz. The walk home is down hill!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at Piz during the month of August. I booked Piz as this was one of the best rated price friendly options in St Moritz (in general St Moritz is very expensive).

It was rated as B&B so I expected something like Ibis i.e. small and practical. But the hotel was bit of a surprise, it was new and nicely done and the room was much larger as compared to any of the budget hotels I have been to. It was better than few of the 3 stars hotel I have stayed in.

The staff is good and helpful though some of them might not understand English that well. They offered us a value card which provided us with free bus and train use within St Moritz and also the cable car.

The Pizza baked in the restaurant oven was just excellent. We tried it one day and ended up having it the next day as well for dinner. It is a must have.

The location is also good as there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and it doesn't take too long to get to the lake or any other attractions in St Moritz.

Room Tip: Request for the room facing the street, ours had a partial view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

St motors is perhaps the prettiest place in Switzerland. The mountains ate breath-taking and there is a lot to enjoy in this iconic playground for the rich and famous. Quality whispers throughout this small town - it isn't in your face. The Piz is a good family style hotel near the centre and a short 20 minute walk from the station. We took the glacier express from Brig to St Moritz but never again - what a shambles but we would love to return to St Moritz and to the Piz hotel. It is modern, clean and well furnished but there are no tea or coffee making facilities. It has a very reasonably priced restaurant and a good breakfast.
The thing that made it such good value was the free 2 day travel cards which gave free admissions on the local trains, buses and cable cars. The cable car to the top of Piz Nair at 3057 metres would otherwise cost 75 chf per person!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

we stayed spontaneously at the piz in st moritz. we never stayed there before. as we got a fantastic rate we didn t expect much but the hotel was much better than we thought. nice tasteful rooms, easy and small but with a lot of wood and swiss granit stone. rooms were super clean. it has a great price value ratio! service was very friendly and supportive. in walling distance to the lake and the village of st moritz

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Piz St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piz St. Moritz

Address: Via Dal Bagn 6, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland (Formerly The Piz B&B)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piz St. Moritz 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Piz St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piz St. Moritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.