We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Murtarol

Restaurant Murtarol
Hauptstrasse 3 | Plaun da Lej, St. Moritz, Switzerland
(41 0) 81-826-5350
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 90 restaurants in St. Moritz
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Monaco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“pure perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I can not understand why do i see here a few negative reviews, as this place is excellent. Situated in the perfect location next to the lake with a beautiful mountain view, it offers great food. Visited with some friends for a very long lunch. The menu is excellent with the variety of fresh sea food and fish. Great wine selection, excellent service and warm ambience. Will recommend to everyone who wants to have a truly excellent lunch or dinner in St Moritz. Will be definitely back, as its one of the greatest restaurants in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    17
    18
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in St Moritz by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This restaurant specialises in fresh fish and is the best place to eat in St Moritz.
It was our second time in Murtarol and personally it deserves to be in top 3 if not number 1 in st Moritz. You need a car to get here but will not miss it as its located on the main road so can conveniently park.
Fish carpaccio is excellent so it everything else on the menu
Highly recommended for food and amazing views of the mountains

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very happy about the visit. The seafood is simply stunning! The backroom with live lobsters and crabs is very impressive. This is definitely one not to miss.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch, and the view..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were staying in Italy and drove to St Moritz forthe day. We arrived at St Moritz and turned right round, not a summer place. We decided to stop at a few of the places we'd seen on the way up but first lunch. We stopped completely on spec at this restaurant and had a great meal with fabulous service. Its highly recommended for that alone but the Swiss summer skies and lakeside view made it even better though a jumper is still recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Murtaroel, Switzerland (Disappointing)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

My husband and I were nearing the end of our stay at the Grand Hotel, in Cadenabbia, Lake Como and found the area hospitable, relaxing and good value for money.

Nearing the end of our stay we decided a change of scene would be refreshing and drove over to St Moritz to take in the magnificent Alpine views en route.

Upon our return journey to Italy in the late afternoon we stopped en route at the pretty Hotel Murtarol for refreshment. This turned out to be a fairly relaxing sojourn in an excellent location although food was average for a restuarant proclaiming a gourmet menu and we personally found the service to be poor.

Menu details had been translated into English which we found refreshing, however it was not made clear on the menu or by the waiter that the stated price was not inclusive and charges for certain fish were per 100 kg in weight.

This resulted in my husband's 600 kg dish of sole itemised at 11.50 euros costing 69.00 euros which would have been useful to know prior to making a choice although fortunately we were in a position to pay this amount without denting our holiday budget.

It was politely pointed out to the waiter that the explanation of payment could be made more prominent on the menu or even explained to the customer prior to taking the order to avoid confusion but we were disappointed by his mechanical and rather diffident response which focused more on the fiscal aspect rather than the overall customer experience.

Ironically we would have chosen to eat there regardless of the cost but having received such a poor response to a perfectly reasonable customer query I would not choose to eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Murtarol also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
Maloja, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Restaurant Murtarol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Murtarol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.