We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kessler's Kulm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kessler's Kulm Hotel to your Saves list
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praettigauerstrasse 32, Davos 7265, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Davos
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The kulm is a remarkable hotel. It must be because we have been going back every year(sometimes twice a year or more) for the last 15 years. The hospitality is exceptional, the rooms comfortable and spotless, the food magnificent, the bus service to Davos is fantastic (every 15 minutes and only 7 minutes to the skilift), it is situated at the bottom of the best skirun in Europe, and when you get down that run the Monstein beer is delicious. Best of all there is nothing that is too much trouble for the management. They go out of their way to accomodate whatever you need or want. It is a genuine second home for us without the responsibility of having one.

Room Tip: Get one of the refurbished rooms with a view of the Jakobshorn and away for the road or the traintra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
21
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fantastic stay! The Kulm makes each trip to Davos complete. Hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. Perfect for a ski trip/vacation. I am a return guest and will be sure to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is a nice place on the highway. Very central to everything. We booked a Queen room for two people. I screen shot the booking to be sure. We arrived and moved into the room. Went to Davos for dinner and when we arrived back, we were told that there would be an additional 60 Euro for the second person. I showed them the booking showed two people in a double room and they did not care. They wanted their money. It was too late to move out so we stayed and paid the extra. The entire time we were there, when they saw us they tried to convince us that our booking was wrong so they just made me angry and ruined my visit. The guy who is the greeter is too pushy and arrogant. I would not stay there again as this guy is just too creepy.

There are plenty of rooms to choose from in the area for less, so I would not waste my time with them. You can do better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nino K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Kessler's Kulm Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and your stay in our hotel.

I was checking your reservation with our "Regional Manager" of booking.com. You made a reservation of a Comfort double room for single use the day before you arrived in our hotel. In the evening of your arrival day you modified your booking for 2 person.

So we just charged you what was confirmed by booking.com.

I am sure you understand this and would be very lucky to welcome you again in Kessler's Kulm Hotel.

Regards
Nino Kessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is really a magnificent property in lovely surroundings. I could not imagine a better hotel to stay in the city. Everything that I have heard about this place turned true. Excellent staff, great hospitality, wonderful ambiance, lovely décor, yummy food and above all the stunning location! During an official tour I stayed here last month and was really happy to book this accommodation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This Hotel has been owned by the Kessler family for generations, on a tradition of remarkable service. I went there for the 4th February for a skiing vacation, and interestingly I met a lot of returning customers, some of them coming back for their 40th year. The hotel is reasonable in price for what it has to offer: free internet, sauna/steam, gourmet food and welcoming faces all around.
Down the street there are free buses non-stop every 15 minutes to town and the major surrounding ski areas, and literally 100m away is the little train station that could also take you free (with the guest card) to the major ski resort in the area, or anywhere else you need to get to.
The rooms are very comfortable, and the restaurant is really cozy and nice; we ate there every breakfast and dinner which were included (full board). I highly recommend the full board. The "living room could use some help to be more inviting for guests to hang around, but we mainly hanged around the restaurant area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Mr Kessler and all his staff provided an excellent personal service - The Hotel is comfortable, relaxing and calm.

Food is of a high standard, Rooms are of a good size with excellent quality of beds. Excellent out of town location (10 minutes by bus to the centre of Davos).

Excellent sauna + steam room. Mr Kessler and staff work very hard to ensure that everyone has a lovely time when staying at Kessler Kulm Hotel, Davos. I would certainly recommend this Hotel and rate it as a superior 3 star +.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at KULM, especially a very personal attitude of the owners and the staff to every customer and a very good restaurant.
If you stay in a room overlooking the mountains, you don't hear any street noise even if you sleep with your window open. The hotel is situated directly on the road, which makes it very easy for those who drive their own car. The street is not very noisy compared to the main streets in Davos with a lot of traffic. Convenient free public transport or a nice 1/2 hour walk to Davos Dorf along the beautiful Davoser lake.
The rooms are simple with good central heating - I didn't expect more from a hotel in a mountain resort judging by the modest price.
I highly recommend taking half board - the 4 course dinners were excellent!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kessler's Kulm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kessler's Kulm Hotel

Address: Praettigauerstrasse 32, Davos 7265, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kessler's Kulm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kessler's Kulm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kessler's Kulm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.