We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, in the middle of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europe

Hotel Europe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europe to your Saves list
Hotel Europe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Promenade 63, Davos, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Davos
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“OK, in the middle of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This place is in the center of Davos, which makes it a nice place. Facilities are good, the rooms are average, but not bad at all. So if you are looking for a not too expensive but very reasonable place this could be the one!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
8
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a Switzerland coach tour. The hotel entrance is buried amongst shop fronts and not very impressive. However, inside is much better. Our room seemed to be a suite at the far end of the highest floor. We had a sitting room as well as the usual bedroom and bathroom. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit sparse and disappointing, even by continental standards - with the most miniscule juice glasses we have ever seen! For dinner you had to go outside the hotel, along the main street, and through some "sleazy" curtains to gain access to the dining room. We were on a set menu on two nights, with a fish/meat choice the other night. Some of the food was a "bit strange", but we survived. However, for a supposedly four star hotel it could/should have been a lot better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We decided to join a coaching holiday run by Shearings coaches to switzerland. Dave was the driver and Anthony our guide. After a long drive across switzerland from Basel to Davos, we arrived at the hotel europe. What a wonderful sight we saw as we drove to the hotel, and a wonderful greeting inside. The rooms were lovely and warm, with ample space. We had an upper floor room with a lounge, seperate bedroom and an nen suite toilet/bathroom. Outside we had a veranda with two sunbeds, and a wonderful view up the valley. It was a glorius three nights that we spent in that hotel amidst the beautiful views of the mountains and snow levels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for three days and enjoyed a lot. One of our friends recommended this place and it really proved to be a good choice. Warm welcome at the reception, beautifully decorated rooms and excellent services of the staff ..... All this was enough for a great stay. Food was amazing and I tried all the meals. I would not hesitate in recommending this place to all my friends and family members.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was small but cozy. Lovely views through the window. Excellent location. Very helpful and friendly staff.

The main negative point - noise in the hallways and outside the hotel was such that we were kept awake from 12am till about 4.30am. There is a casino or a night club, so the music was pumping loud, people screaming and shouting right outside the windows. And other guests coming back to their rooms decide to stop in the hall at 3am in the morning and discuss their experiences loudly.

Overall - even though we had a nice breakfast, we were glad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I just spent a week in Europe hotel and got a room on the 4th floor. On the ground level there is a night club with a music in a volume such that it is impossible to sleep.You get the bass vibrations to your ears and stomach. The celebrations are also in front of the night club on the street so the hotel guests trying to sleep suffer from them too.
If you intend to have a good sleep after a long ski day don't come to thןs hotel !

Room Tip: Don't come!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is co located with the casino in the Main Street of Davos. It is close to the station (approx 500m). With snow and ice, we called the hotel from the station to arrange to be picked up. We were told to get a taxi, (cost 20CHF!) as there was no hotel bus. This is untrue, as we used it to get back to the station after our stay. The biggest problem was the poor attitude of the staff. There were three young people who manned the desk in turn. Only one was what one would expect from any hotel let alone a 4 star. The other two could barely be bothered to look up from the computer to assist us. They did not seem to have any concept of hospitality nor any customer service training. For example, the beds have only one pillow. More are available on request, but could not be provided on the first night (in a 4 star hotel?) The power point needed a special adaptor (deposit required) and the receptionist insisted all plugs in Switzerland were like this in a very hostile manner - clearly untrue. There is no lounge or area in the hotel in which to sit. There are two bars, open from 20:00 each evening, and both of them permit smoking. Before 20:00, there is no heating and one of them is locked up. This means non smokers are trapped in their rooms, as there is no where else to go within the hotel. All in all, given the abundance of accommodation available in Davos, choose another hotel. This one was expensive and did not meet a reasonable standard.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Address: Promenade 63, Davos, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Davos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Davos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.