We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europe to your Saves list
Hotel Europe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Promenade 63, Davos, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 60 hotels in Davos
Felixstowe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Coach holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days as part of a coach holiday. My wife and I were very impressed with the facilities and the staff especially the waitresses who were very efficient and willing to help with their fairly good use of English and our total ignorance of their language.

On leaving the hotel one morning and leaving the key I reported a minor fault with our shower. When we returned 3 hours later and asked for the key I was immediately advised the fault had been repaired. The only diappointment was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I know this is not unusual in Europe but for any hotel catering for English visitors for whom this is a much appreciated facility I withheld one *.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
8
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We chose a double room (king size bed option requested) over a weekend.
We were quite lucky since we got a very nice room facing South, with a walk-in closet, big balcony with sunbeds and a roomy bathroom. The room looked renovated quite recently, while the bathroom tiles still had a "late 70's" style. The indoor pool is pretty small but enjoyable after a skiing day, clean with warm water. Bathrobes and slippers are available in the room.
The hotel has two bars (a piano bar and a cigar lounge for smokers) and direct access to the Casino. Having dinner in the hotel was quite an experience because even if there are two restaurants in the hotel apparently guests "have to make a reservation". The restaurants are open to public and there is no special treatment for hotel-guests, quite a shame for a 4-stars hotel. After an argue with an unpolite waitress at the end we got a table in the Scala restaurant and the director of the restaurant took care of serving us personally.

The international breakfast is served in the "Asian" restaurant, with a nice view on Davos and a relaxing "Zen fountain".
A garage - to be reserved and paid separately - is available very close to the hotel. Wifi is available for free upon request of username and password at the reception. It was possible to ask for a late check-out at 2 pm without additional charges.

Except for the bad dinner experience, I would recommend a stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor is right on top of the piano bar and it can get noisy in the evening. Rooms facing Sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

After a short time entering the room you realise already that renovation is necessary. Very cheap made ceiling, bathroom has various cracks in and beside the wash basin and part of the heating in calcified. Additionally, on the balcony we found one cushion with a big ugly spot. Why couldn't they put at least a towel over it.
Next negative experience was the Chinese restaurant "Zauberberg". We had to wait 30minutes even though we made a reservation. You will be served by different people, some of them not very friendly nor helpful. To mention is that the food was really good.
The piano lounge is nicely decorated, bit overpriced and the waitress doesn't want to pay attention when asking for the bill.
However, the worst of all is that there was no hot water in the evening! Coming home after snowboarding and après-ski a bit later around 7pm and you won't find any hot water! No acceptable in a 4 star hotel in the cold winter of Davos! We even told Reception who didn't seem to know about the problem, but said to ask someone to have a look after. However, at midnight it was not any better.
Housekeeping seems strange as they made our room on our check-out day and even exchanged towels, what a waste...and to mention that they did turndown service one night, but not for the other 3 nights...
Definitely not to recommend, the hotel seems to have a bad organisation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I was impressed about the kindness of the employees
The location ( in the center of Davos Platz )
The beautyfull view from my room
The incredible breakfest (buffet)
The entertainment in the Pianobar
The lunch menu at the Scala Restauant ( 3 course lunch everything cooked to perfection)
We loved it and we'll be back
Thank You Miss Brandt

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

The hotel is a bit old and slightly rundown but overall fairly clean and comfortable. Smells like smoke in the hallways due to the piano bar but non smoking rooms did not smell of smoke - however, they did frequently smell foul (like poop). Room and bathroom size was large for Europe. Beds and bedding very comfortable. Quiet - comfortable for sleeping. Breakfast was amazing - great selection and coffee. Pool and sauna very nice for relaxing after skiing. Free internet access in the lobby but unfortunately not in the room. WATCH OUT FOR FEES. We thought we were getting a per night rate on the room but later found out it was per person per night - Double what we anticipated paying! Staff were very snotty and unfriendly. Especially the larger women with dark hair. Overall, good stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

I recently stay at the “Europe” hotel in Davos/Switzerland. I have stayed at many hotels and by far this is the worst. The Davos ”Europe” hotel is an old smelly run down hotel, worst experience I’ve had thus far in my life at a hotel!

I was expecting a very nice, clean room. Instead, I got an old, dirty, stained room that looked like it hadn't been updated in 20 years. The carpet was absolutely disgusting. I wouldn't walk around without socks on. The furniture looked like something you’d see on the corner in a dumpster. I couldn't tell if the bathroom was really that dirty or if it was just really, really old and stained. Luckily, we only had to stay one night here.
I was very disappointed with this hotel based on it's rating and price. This hotel has a great location but I would have expected something better for paying almost $400 a night. I would definitely not recommend the “Europe”!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Address: Promenade 63, Davos, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Davos
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Davos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.