We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meierhof Davos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meierhof Davos to your Saves list
Hotel Meierhof Davos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Promenade 135, Davos 7260, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Davos
Boston, Mass.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Swiss hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed here for only 1 night, but was extremely impressed with all aspects of this hotel: staff, service, food, rooms, ambience, and location. The hotel is rated 4 stars, but it feels like five. Rooms are very comfortable and have all the amenities including free internet. Breakfast was fantastic and the whole hotel is so beautiful inside that you almost don't want to go out and enjoy the delights of the area. A lovely place to stay. Service and staff first-rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
58
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Family owned and family run hotel with about 50 rooms, 2 minutes by foot from the village station of the Parsenn cablecar. When in Davos, we always stay at the Meierhof as the hotel is rustic without beeing dated, cosey without being heavy and it's bang in the middle of the village without the noise some hotels a bit further down the Promenade where the bars and nightlife are. Nice a la carte restaurant and less stylish but very good value for money half board restaurant. The Meierhof has an indoor pool, children play room and a small spa with massage and sauna.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Meierhof for a week and thus had enough time to experience all its ups and downs. All in all, the hotel is well worth the 4 stars it has and also offers a few nice touches, such as free use of swimming pool and several saunas until late in the evening and complimentary herb tea with cakes in the afternoon (the best thing after a cold day in the mountains!).
Rooms – the 3 double rooms we saw were all very spacious, clean, quiet, and warm. We especially liked having a big bathtub and a balcony. The only thing to turn extra attention to is the towel-changing procedure: being a nature-friendly person, I don’t need a new towel every day, so I hung it up nicely with the intention to re-use it (this was the instruction as well). Despite that, we still got new towels every day:)
Restaurant – having pre-ordered the dinner for each evening, we experienced a gourmet dinner of 5-courses from fish to veal and ostrich, so everything was excellent. However, white wine was always served at room-temperature and I had to ask for ice every evening to cool it down.
Breakfast – nice selection of everything, I especially enjoyed the mixture of fruit, muesli, youghurt and various seeds. And the bread buns were delicious! From downside, there were almost no fresh vegetables and the hot dishes were limited to scrambled eggs and bacon. As it turned out in the last morning, other hot dishes could have been ordered as well without extra charge, but unfortunately there was no info about that.
Reception – there was no one behind the counter for most of the time, but they magically appeared after ringing the bell:) One of the girls (maybe she was new) gave us the wrong directions and another one made us wait for 10 minutes because she was on the phone, but other than that – all ok.
If planning to spend a lot of time skiing, then Hotel Meierhof is an excellent choice – only 50 meters from the mountain railway stop with its own ski-room (with boot-drying option). I’m sure it’s just as nice in the summer, though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed here for a week's ski holiday and we would really enjoyed it. The hotel is perfectly located only 300 m walk from the main ski station to Parsenn.

The hotel has two buildings; the main building with the reception and restaurant and the residence. We had a family room in the residence. Although a little dated in its style (1970's looking), the room and bathroom were spacious and spotlessly clean. Service was efficient and always friendly.

The indoor pool and sauna area was very nice and we took advantage of this nearly every evening after skiing. The gym was practically non-existant, however, with one exercise bike and a multifunctional weights machine, which seemed not to work properly.

The main highlight of the hotel was the food. We took half-board and every evening we enjoyed a five course meal of a very high standard. Drinks were a bit pricey with bottles of wine starting at CHF 50 and a 1 L bottle of water at CHF 9. Breakfast was great with the most wonderful breads.

If we come back to Davos, we would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The management and staff at this hotel seem genuinely eager to make guests feel welcome.
We were on half-board and we'd be happy to do this again as the food was excellent. The breakfasts were also first-class and were availabel until 1100 which was a bonus for a lazy morning if the weather was inclement.
The location is good for the Parsenn train and local buses, all of which were free to holders of the Davos/Klosters travel card. This is given to tourists who use accommodation in the little town.
The view from our ground level Superior room was somewhat restricted so we asked to be relocated to a higher level, which was a big improvement.
I would certainly return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton St. Philip
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Our first time in Davos and we were not disappointed. This is an excellent hotel in all respects. Although the owners were away, Andreas the Assistant Director and all the staff could not have been better. Immaculate rooms, excellent food (including vegetarian) and a superb cellar.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Our third stay in 10 years. Consistantly very high standards with attention to detail. Good food and good service. Great central location. Bus stop a few paces from the door.
Our last night coincided with the Davos Jazz Festival - excellent band played in hotel bar that evening.
Hope to return soon in either winter or summer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meierhof Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meierhof Davos

Address: Promenade 135, Davos 7260, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meierhof Davos 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Meierhof Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meierhof Davos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.