We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meierhof Davos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meierhof Davos to your Saves list
Hotel Meierhof Davos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Promenade 135, Davos 7260, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Davos
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

beautiful hotel in a very strategic place . 2min walking distance from the Parsennbahn cable car it shows the typical mountain atmosphere and charm , very nice staff always helpful and an amazing restaurant .
services like wifi and pool are very much appreciated as well as the spa area .
a great experience .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
58
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here for a ski trip and could not have been happier. Walk to lifts, bus and rentals. The hotel is clean and the rooms are comfortable. The food is delicious. The perfect place to escape from the teenagers is the lobby sitting area with all the international newspapers and (the best foam on any) cappuccino or at the bar where evenings they have a pianist. Very friendly staff who make it easy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are friendly and we were upgraded to a huge room with a large balcony and beautiful view. The breakfast is delicious and location is perfect.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Hotel Meierhof is decent. Davos is beautiful and the Meierhof is right in the middle of the town, which is great. If you're in Davos for a conference, this hotel is approximately 10 minutes on foot from the convention centre.

The room was pleasant, if slightly outdated. TV reception for English-language channels faded in and out. Being a hotel, things like ironing and washing are done in-house but cost an arm and a leg (this is a function of being in Switzerland I guess, rather than the particular hotel). The one disappointing feature is that if your room is toward the back end of the hotel, it's about a 200 metre walk through corridors and stairwells from reception, which was a little bizarre.
The staff were friendly and engaging, the food was good, and the views were stunning. 3.5-stars simply because the entire experience will cost you a small fortune. I think I paid close to 70 francs to get 3 shirts and a suit jacket ironed. You're better off buying your own iron from the convenience store haha.

If you can afford Switzerland, it's great, and the same is true of this hotel. If work wasn't paying, I'd be at a backpackers for sure.

Room Tip: It's only a small thing, but try and request a room in the front of the hotel to avoid the hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and myself have recently returned from an eleven night stay at the Meierhof Hotel in Davos Dorf. The hotel has a bus stop outside the door which makes travelling by bus, train or gondola very easy especially with the free Davos Klosters travel card. We had a superior room on the fourth floor with a huge south facing balcony. The room was very clean with loads of wardrobe space and hangers, a comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. What made this hotel so enjoyable for us was the friendliness and excellent service from the staff.
We phoned the hotel as the train was approaching Davos Dorf station and were met by a member of staff who took us to the hotel. The next morning the porter collected our luggage for us from the station. We requested synthetic pillows and duvet and this was quickly brought to our room. The day before we left, the porter again took us to the station and back to the hotel so we could send our luggage to the airport. We have a netbook so we were able to check in for our flight with the free internet in our room. As we do not have a printer, the front desk happily printed our boarding passes. The hotel has a business centre with free use for guests but at the time we stayed there was a problem with the printer but again, the front desk will help you check in if you ask them.
Breakfast in the morning was very good and consisted of the usual swiss fare of juices, cereals, bread, cheeses, meats etc as well as scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. The staff would willingly supply boiled, poached, fried eggs if requested. As half board guests, we were presented with a four course evening meal. This was a salad buffet, starter, main course and choice of dessert, cheese or fresh fruit. Even though there was not a choice of starter or main course on the menu, again the staff were willing to supply an alternative if some part of the meal did not suit.
Our only small disappointment was that the whirlpool in the spa was not working but hopefully the new owner will have this repaired soon.
We would happily recommend this hotel and at the time of writing this review, we are considering returning next year as due to the unexpected snow during our visit, we were unable to do as much walking as we wished.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are in a separate building linked by a well lit, carpeted underground corridor and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have now stayed in this hotel for 4 times. All for summer visits. The first 3 we sampled the excellent cuisine (we stayed half board), the lovely rooms (we had the superior rooms with balcony and view) and the very good swimming pool (small but with strong jet stream) jacuzzi and wellness suite.
In previous visits, the manager was always present and the hotel was clearly well run.

We have just returned from a 6 day visit. I am happy to say that under the new manager (an ex racing driver), the hotel is still running well and the cuisine standard and staff are probably even better.

He is beginning to modernise aspects to good advantage. There is a very nice open air coffee bar.

This time I used the sauna suite on each day. It is a particularly nicely designed and maintained one and was very relaxing with few other users.

The worst bit about holiday was the impact of the very high swiss currency. It meant that all extras (wine, coffee, food and souvenirs) were prohibitively expensive. On half board it is not necessary to spend much in addition but it certainly cranks when one does.

Overall then, excellent hotel but poor value for non Swiss

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We went for a short stay in Davos and we had a really good surprise by going to this restaurant during a walk on the promenade.
The services was excellent, the disnner was fabulous. Salad, soup, Tartare (one of the best ever), lamb and not to forget the desserts...all was a must. We'll definitely go again if we have the chance to go back to Davos

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meierhof Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meierhof Davos

Address: Promenade 135, Davos 7260, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meierhof Davos 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Meierhof Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meierhof Davos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.