We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied guest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos to your Saves list
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkstrasse 1 | 7270 Davos Platz, Davos 7270, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Davos
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very satisfied guest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I spent 9 nights at the Sunstar Park Hotel for my ski holiday and it met all my expectations. I booked a superior single room but got a double so it was quite spacious, balcony with superb view, well appointed. The public areas are pleasant and comfortable. Breakfasts were good although I would have liked a bit more choice for the main course at dinner. The staff were efficient, friendly and extremely helpful when I needed help with my new tablet and sending my luggage on ahead. The free wifi was a bonus as were the free computers (although very slow) when I had problems with my tablet. I particularly appreciated the bus shuttle to ski lifts and the station when I needed it. I didn't have time to use the wellness facilities. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
50
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Large but very good hotel in Davos Platz. The staff is very kind and efficient. The room was good, very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good although not extremely varied and the waiters kind and attentive. There is free wifi in the rooms. The hotel has also a spa area but, unfortunately, I had no time to try it. All in all a very good place to stay. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent 2 nights there in a double room with a balcony.

The hotel is ok overall: slept well, good breakfast, located close to the main road, free mini bar, shuttle bus service provided, a room to store the skis... but i found it quite expensive for the value.
A friend stayed in a single room and heard it was extremely small

The hotel is quite old, for a ski week end it is fine, but i wouldn't like staying there longer. The gym area would need new machines, the wellness area is bit too overcrowded.
For the price of the room, refurbishment should definitely be done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Friendly staff, ok location (about 10 min walk to jakobshorn which is the main lift). Standard buffet breakfast with some good cereal options. But super expensive and honestly the most expensive hotel per sq foot I have ever stayed in. I actually had a single bed (yes single) and the room was tiny. But I guess we are here for skiing not relaxing in the room. If you are coming to davos and need to stay in a hotel then I guess it's good but to honest try and find an apartment instead

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUDAPEST
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I spend eight days in this fantastic hotel. Very good room, extra good breakfast with unbeleivable quality. Surrounded with greens, five minute walk to the Promenade, the main street of Davos. Big pool, restaurants, bar with an original Bechstein piano. Two elevators, big lobby, Sunstar souvenirs. Some little present on arrival, every day weather forecast on the bed, and a little goodnight chocolate. Guest card. Helpful and polite staff, Transfer from and to the Station.
Davos is one of the most beautiful little town, I have ever seen. Lot of possibility for excursions.
It was an unforgottable holiday!!

Room Tip: Very silent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed at the Sunstar Parkhotel for a couple of days in March and was overall satisfied with my stay. As often the case in Switzerland, the entire interior of the hotel and the rooms is still from the seventies, i.e. outdated. However, the service staff is friendly, the breakfast buffet is big and of good quality and there are a couple of comforts, which make the hotel nonetheless good value for money in my view:

- The mini bar in the room is for free and is filled every day
- There is a ski shop and locker room within the hotel, which is very convenient
- There is a hotel shuttle bus connecting the hotel with the train station and the ski lifts
- The pool and spa area is very nice

So all in all good value for the money in Davos!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great food. Room was rather small and very dated. The free minibar was a nice gesture though. Liked the mini cinema and the pool was a reasonable size.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos

Address: Parkstrasse 1 | 7270 Davos Platz, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#3 Spa Hotel in Davos
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos is in a quiet yet central position in beautiful parkland. The hotel, with its varied range of leisure and wellness facilities, is a relaxing place to stay in Europe's highest town. The spacious and comfortable rooms are decorated with light wooden furniture to create a feeling of cosiness and well-being. Those in certain categories have a balcony. You can enjoy fine food in the half-board restaurant with its wonderful panoramic views, while a-la-carte dishes and Swiss cheese specialities are served in the "Rotisserie" and the "Buurestube". The spa centre is the perfect place to relax, with its large swimming pool, Finnish sauna and massage showers. The choice of sports is excellent, including a fitness centre, aquagymnastics and aerobics. There is plenty of entertainment for young and old, with table-tennis and table football in the "Games Room" and a daily changing programme of films in the hotel's own cinema. The appealing range of sporting and other activities in the world-famous holiday resort of Davos will round off your wonderful stay in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Parkhotel Davos Hotel Davos
Sunstar Parkhotel Hotel Davos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunstar Alpine Hotel Davos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.