We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food but eye-watering prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stern / Buendner Stube

Stern / Buendner Stube
Reichsgasse 11, Chur CH-7000, Switzerland
+41 81 258 57 57
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 87 Restaurants in Chur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $118
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant Veltliner Weinstuben zum Stern or Bündner Stuben ist with ist over 330 years of Age the historic Restaurant in chur. Our awardwinning Chef celebrates a regional, seasonal cuisine, a touch of Gourmet but yet comfortable and friendly athmosphere - anything else but stiff. Reservations are recommended
Halwill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Delicious food but eye-watering prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Not having been in Switzerland for many years and otherwise eating standardised meals on a Great Railway Journey package tour, our night out at the Stern came as a bit of a shock on the pocket. For 130 Swiss Francs - say £87 we had the cheapest items on the menu - a soup and a consomme followed by calves liver and veal both served with rosti but no veg. Slightly wetting the bottom of a wine glass with basic house wine cost 8 - 10 francs so doubling that up meant something approaching 0.25 of a litre was costing £12. Ouch! (And that was just for me).However forgetting all that, the food was delicious and plentiful. Before the starters we were served an "amuse bouche" (Is that the right word?) of something meaty - very tasty - and four choccy things at the end. Pleasant atmosphere in a busy and popular restaurant - we got the last table and that was eating at 6.0pm

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pizzocheri Valtellinesi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I love Graubünden and the Bündner Stube is definitely one of the finest places in chur where you can find incredible delicious local dishes - such as Capuns and Maluns. My favourite dish remain the Pizzocher!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stopped by on a Saturday night. Cozy atmosphere and prompt and friendly service. Delicious Swiss specialties - try the capuns! Really an excellent experience. Beer and main course for under 30CHF. Also complimentary appetizer and cookies for dessert. Wish I was staying in Chur longer... I would go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Traditional Swiss meal - place to be recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I recommend this restaurant in Chur. It's a very good place to eat swiss food and a light taste of asian (with the wasabi dressing for example). Lots of specialities of the area (capuns, maluns,...). Service is good and prices are totally fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Do go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a wonderful meal here during our 12 day trip through Switzerland. In fact our meal here was one of the highlights of our trip. Do go. It's a combination of classic recipes done superbly with good quality ingredients as well as more 'adventurous' dishes that will tantilise your tastebuds with some new taste combinations.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stern / Buendner Stube also viewed

Chur, Canton of Graubunden
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
 
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
Chur, Canton of Graubunden
 

Been to Stern / Buendner Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stern / Buendner Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.