We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable & relaxing refuge.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chur

Hotel Chur
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chur to your Saves list
Hotel Chur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Welschdorfli 2, Chur 7000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chur
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A comfortable & relaxing refuge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We drove up the Rhone Valley from Monthey in non-stop rain and climbed over the 2500 m Furka pass in driving rain and mist, but very aware of the lethal drop just inches off the highway. Having crossed from west to east of the country in constant rain, the sun came out as we approached Chur. We found Hotel Chur by chance and were delighted by the spacious and comfortable room and by the helpfulness of the staff. Excellent food revived us. Chur is Switzerland's oldest city and is a delight, being among the mountains but quite sophisticated as well. Hotel Chur is a family-run hotel, no bargains, not flash, but very comfortable, clean and friendly, with a safe ambiance. We'd go back with pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, meaning the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is in a great location in easy walking distance to the old town. There are heaps of really interesting quaint little alleys and walkways to explore. It was great to have car parking for hotel guests. The breakfast was only average, but we had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was very good. We found it interesting that there was hardly anything open on a Sunday. We were also grateful that we had a room located on the front of the building, not on the river side because the river was in flood and very noisy.

Room Tip: Suggest not on the river if there has been a lot of rain and the river is in flood - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We checked into this hotel for a one night stay prior to a train trip through the Alps. Fortunately, I had stopped at the TI at the train station and had the attendant show me the hotel on the map or we would have been wandering for quite a while. The reception area is up one level from the street and the is NO LIFT. Our room was up another 2 floors. We were told that there was going to be a wedding dinner in the dining room. I asked if it would be a party too and if the wedding guests were staying in the hotel ans was assured that it was just a dinner.

Our room was quite small with sloping ceilings - it was a good thing that both my spouse and I are fairly short. It was clean and the beds were okay.

We had been travelling for a few days and fell into bed early only to be awakened to the sounds of a very lively and noisy wedding party at 11:30 PM that lasted into the wee hours of the morning. There was no one at the front desk and the wedding guests were just having a good ole time. Finally, one guest went down and yelled at the wedding party to leave.

The dinner at the hotel was average. The entire evening was very expensive. Our reservation had a non-cancelation clause or we would have considered not checking in when we arrived. When I said something to the reception desk in the morning about the party, etc, the woman said nothing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel was in a good location and the staff was nice.
The beds were the worst i have ever slept in. It was not as close to the train station as they say. Breakfast was bad, not much to choose from. Very very expensive for what you get.
It is on the river, but it is so loud you cant sleep with the window open. The internet was supposed to work in the rooms, it did not ! only in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hotel is located in the beautiful old town and provides parking for hotel guests. Rooms should have been renovated 10 years ago and if you are visiting Chur a hot summer day, you will miss the air condition. It is not possible to sleep with open windows due to traffic but if the heat does not bother you, the windows are well isolated. Beds are comfortable and room in general clean.
Breakfast was not such a positive experience, the service was not sufficient and tables full of dirty dishes, tea only available upon request from a stressed young waitress. The coldcuts were all out and the options in general very standard. No fresh cut fruits or extras.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hotel Chur was a very average hotel. The young man at the reception assisted us through reservation and was very polite. The room was average sized, but clean. There was some problem with the heaters though, and they took time to rectify it. The location is not very great. Moreover, the staff didnt have enough informations about 'must visit' places.
The hotel;s restaurant was good and the breakfast was also good. Overall, it is an average hotel, not very great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Hotel Chur was by no way the best place i've stayed but it was reasonable. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good. We arrived very last minute but managed to get a room quite easily & the young man at the front desk was helpful enough.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chur

Address: Welschdorfli 2, Chur 7000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Chur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Chur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chur 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.