We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
Alteinstrasse | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Arosa
Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel, amazing hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel Astoria is comfortably located in the heart of Arosa, few minutes walk from the train station, the ski cable car, and the bus station. We stayed 4 nights at a south facing room where the views are superb. The room is spotless, nicely decorated, warm and very comfortable.
Breakfast is generous with selection of cereals, Swiss cheese, eggs and fresh selection of breads. Dinner is nice with a good selection of vegetarian, fish and meat main courses. Especially notable was the Salad bar with huge selection of fresh products.
The Schmid couple who run the place are amazing hosts, providing great information and care a lot in making your stay enjoyable and comfortable.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have splendid views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
55
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Convenient situation on quiet street, only a short walk to the centre of Arosa, station and cable car. Owners are very welcoming and along with staff are friendly and always helpful. Our bedroom was south facing with a small balcony and lovely views of the mountains. Restaurant is good value with a choice of excellent food and an extensive salad bar. We made use of the Jacuzzi and infra red rooms - excellent after a days walking. Would not hesitate to recommend this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on south side overlook mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last year for 6 nights and i would love to go back!
The hotel is so well run by a very friendly and accommodating family.
The combination of a beautiful setting and picturesque views with the typical swiss architecture and decoration makes this hotel very special.
The highlight was definitely the dinners- i must have put on about 10 kilos as the food was PHENOMENAL and there was so much of it!
The only negative of this hotel was the "gym"- it was quite dated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Having come to the Astoria from the 5 star Zum Stochen hotel in Zurich we had expected to be staying with a much lower standard however this was not the case. The hotel was excellent from every aspect , The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very modern The bedroom was very comfortable and coped well with our 5 pieces of luggage . There was loads of hanging space with plenty of room for all the clothes and shoes. Two wardrobes so we had a his and hers! The bookcase was a nice (and useful ) touch.
The service was always helpful and managed well to cope with our dietary needs .
The position was central with pleasant views, in fact nothing was lacking.
We would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Some rooms are small . The rooms with a balcony and a mountain view are best. We chose the suite , r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Astoria is perfect for those seeking a smaller, quiet hotel located near the heat of Arosa and the Weisshorn cable car. The hotel is immaculate, our room looked out towards the mountains and was spacious with a great shower bath and a small balcony with a couple chairs. The host/owners are friendly and helpful and the breakfast and half-board dinners were excellent. The hotel also has a brand new wellness space with 2 large jacuzzis, sauna, steam room and infared booths. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel last July for about 10 days. It was amazing. Service was superb, rooms were clean and nicely decorated, nice view of the mountains, great spa area, excellent location and really really great staff. A wonderful family who took such good care of us and even sang a song followed by a ukulele and a cake for my boyfriend's birthday!
The restaurant is fantastic. Delicious traditional dishes, options for vegetarian meals and the BEST salad bar I have ever seen in my life! Hotel Astoria is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, I truly recommend it to everyone going to Arosa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent a week his winter in this hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much!
The hotel is very neat and clean. The owners and the staff are very helpful.
The beds are good. We have a mountain facing room with a greta view.
The is a nice sauna / pool downstairs, very nice place to enjoy the mountain view.
The food is also excellent.
A very good choice in Arosa.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Alteinstrasse | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arosa
#2 Family Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is charming and elegant with high quality in Chalet style. 5-couse dinner, nice braekfast buffet with warm egg dishes. 2 whirlpools, sauna, steambath and fitness area and children's playroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Arosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.