We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arosa Vetter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arosa Vetter Hotel to your Saves list
Arosa Vetter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seeblickstrasse, Arosa 7050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ski Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

first let me quote that I love Arosa and travel there several times a year. I now stayed in Hotel Vetter and must say, it was one of the best experiences I have ever had in Arosa. Friendly staff, great food, modern but cosy rooms, perfect location to the ski area but also for a drink or dinner after a sunny day in the mountains. Highly recommended and value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calif
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was the first hotel on an impromtu autumn 2012 Switzerland trip, during which I wanted to see a few new places in the country. Arosa is in Eastern Switzerland, near Austrian and Italian borders, and one has to travel a bit up into the mountains to get there. The Arosa Vetter is a well situated, small 3 star with a very good restaurant, which appeared to be frequented by locals.
I was lucky enough to get a very reasonable price for one of the largest rooms, as it was between seasons, and much of the town was actually closed up. This was first two nights, so, being in the throes of jet-lag, that didn't bother me.
The room had large picture windows overlooking the mountains, a nice bed and an upgraded bathroom which featured a steam/'sauna' shower; I did not use-my hair still looked good at that point!
Everyone I encountered on staff was very freindly and helpful, and the Grisons-style food in their restaurant was as tasty as I encountered in the 5 stars I stayed at for rest of trip.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on top floor, although you pay more.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you go to Arosa, you must stay at this Hotel! I cannot point out enough how perfect it is in all ways! The moment you step in, as it has been newly renovated, there is a wow effect. You feel like you are in the Swiss Alps at the very best. It is so cozy! Inside the hotel, wether the restaurant or the rooms, you feel like in a modern Swiss Chalet, keeping the traditional feel of a wooden house as the walls and the floor were all wooden. We had 2 connecting rooms and everybody had their space to relax after skiing, which is nice. It is right next to the ski lift, which is very convenient. The service could not be any better, so friendly and the food was excellent too! The hotel was full as it was the week of Christmas, and we did not have the feeling of being crowded at any time, there was a great atmosphere but did not feel overwhelmed by the other guests at all. Usually, when hotels are full, it can be quite noisy, this one, only if you go to the bar around 5 pm, it might be a bit, but the moment, you step in your room, you have peace and quiet. Best of all, not even 3 minutes from the tiny very charming train station and the horse sleighs. Loved it! We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is much more than you would expect in Switzerland. The friendliness and competence of the staff is amazing. I have rarely experienced such a high level of quality and familiar treatment. The rooms are newly renovated in a mix of classic wooden walls and modern flat top TV screens. There are different categories of rooms. I have beens staying in all three categories during the last two years and they are all great (different in size though). The kitchen is excellent with great food for all tastes, from vegetarian to meat eaters. I personally love the great and fairly priced wine list. The location is great for ski holidays because it is next to the ski schools and ski lifts. The ski slope ends next to the hotel.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms at the upper floors offer a great view over the lake and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Based on reviews we decided to stay in Arosa instead of Chur on our 10 day self guided trip to Switzerland. We arrived at the train station and expected to see the Vetter Hotel from the station but it was not visible because it is directly behind the train station. It is the closest hotel to the station but you do not hear the trains. We were so impressed. This hotel has it all. It has been renovated and the owners have not missed any details as it is absolutely beautiful as well as warm and inviting. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it is equally warm and inviting and the food was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was beyond our expectations. Breads, jams, rolls, a nut torte, cheeses, meats, cereals, yogurt (with a huge assortment of nuts and toppings) and fresh brewed coffee and juices. This was our favorite hotel on our 10 day trip to Switzerland. Don't miss spending the night at the Vetter....better yet spend a couple of nights!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

At first sight this hotel is not very prepossessing. Once you step through the doors past the shelves of wine, however, you know immediately that you are in good hands. Very friendly staff, excellent food (best to book a table at the weekend), nice room with a view of the mountains and only five minutes from the train station. Arosa itself is a bit of a mish-mash of buildings, with the best part in the centre a few minutes walk uphill from the hotel. But the access to the mountains is incredible - don't miss the 360 view from the new panoramic restaurant on top of the Weisshorn if the weather is good - and excellent walks go off in all directions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

A great hotel - great rooms, really friendly staff, a great bar and also really good home cooked food (in fact so good we didn't go out to eat). Located in the best spot right by one of the lifts and opposite a really friendly ski shop. The team at the Vetter couldn't be more helpful from booking right through the stay and also helping us with the interesting logitics when leaving - This was our second trip and will will be back

Room Tip: Great room over looking the street and the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arosa Vetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosa Vetter Hotel

Address: Seeblickstrasse, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosa Vetter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Arosa Vetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arosa Vetter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.