We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TschuggenGrandHotel - Simply The Best Hotel in Switzerland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tschuggen Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonnenbergstrasse | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Arosa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“TschuggenGrandHotel - Simply The Best Hotel in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed 3 Nights for our ski holidays in January 2012.

+++ Simply the best hotel in Switzerland, it should actually be upgraded to a 7 Stars.
+ Complimentary luxury pickup at the train station (Maybach!)
+ The real estate (a former sanitarium) has been remodeled with a lot of style without too much exuberance. One feel immediately like at home thanks to the extremely friendly and dedicated staff. We were granted by the hotel director upon arrival. Perfect start of holidays!

THE ROOM - Tradition & Modernity; perfect!
+ We were booked a standard room facing the road accessing the hotel. It was one of the best room that I was ever given, beautiful view on the mountains. A large balcony topped the offer.
+ Very good bed
+ The bathroom was great, a nice plus were the MoltonBrown products.

THE SPA - Simply the best
A particular tip to participate in the group session at end of the day with the sauna master, a dream! We were even served fresh water melon !
Large & beautiful pools, lots of room. The hotel management has decided to open the SPA only during a few hours of the day to the outside public, a clear + as we never felt it crowded.

THE BAR
+ Live music at evening, perfect service & reasonably priced drinks from a very large selection of best cocktails. There is a smoking room for cigar lovers with a great list of the best havanas.

THE RESTAURANT
+ Fantastic food, best service - This is a Michelin starred, expect simply the best.

AND AND AND...
For ski fanatics, Arosa may be not the very best ski resort in Switzerland (lots of slopes in addition are very badly connected as one need to walk quite often carrying skis..). BUT... the hotel has its very private alpine train bringing you in the heart of the ski slopes. MAGIC!

The only minus..... Holidays are finished at Tschuggen! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    39
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
109
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on the „Dine around“option for 2 nights in January for our anniversary. We’re both extensively travelled and used to staying in 5* hotels but the Tschuggen Grand really does stand out. From the very first contact with hotel via e-mail to check rates and reserve a room, the service cannot be bettered by any one of the hotel’s employees. From the room maids (beautiful uniforms) to the General Manager who always seemed to be on hand by reception to welcome, discuss and generally interact with guests. (I don't know when he slept!!)

The décor, location and ambiance of this hotel oozes superiority and class.
Without giving a huge list of +ve things (reception, breakfast, Bündnerstube restaurant, spa, Tschuggen express, location, peace & tranquillity etc.), I can shorten this review by mentioning only 2 –ves, 1) the blinds in our bathroom were broken which meant you could not bathe etc. without exposing yourself to residents in the other hotel wing. This should have been picked up by room service before the room was released to guests. 2) the “La Vetta” restaurant food (only food, not service/ambiance) – very disappointing for a Michelin * restaurant – very average.
As we live in Zürich -only 2 ½ hours train ride away, we will definitely be returning to this hotel when they have a similar offer, after we’ve tried out the other hotels in the Tschuggen Hotel Group though!! :-)

Room Tip: We didn't have a room with a balcony, not a problem when temps are -15°C but in summer I'd r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I visited this hotel in January with my mother and my adult daughter. The charming and efficient staff could not do enough for us and I am grateful to them for their kindness and patience with my mother's requests. Our rooms were comfortable and well maintained but oddly decorated for an hotel of this standard.
My daughter and I enjoyed the beautiful spa especially the biggest pool which allowed you to swim outside under the stars. (Everything had been thought of!)
The only downside for us was the over ambitious , occasionally pretentious, food at dinner. Where were the simply cooked, fresh ingredients that I (surely I am not alone here?) now prefer to eat?
But all in all, a lovely break that we will remember and treasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Not located centrally, therefore very quiet grounds. Perfect for a relaxed get-away. Free-of-charge shuttle to town with a very friendly driver who explained us Arosa on the way. Rooms are designed individually - we liked it a lot. Great views overlooking the mountains from the large balcony. Lobby with piano player at night, lounge and great breakfast with friendly staff at the main restaurant. Spa is very large, connected to the hotel via a heated bridge. Liked the variety of pools and the sauna. Tschuggen Express, a small gondola that brings you into the mountains. Free of charge lift passes we provided during the Summer at the Concierge Desk. GM personally stopped by at Check-out and we had small talk about our stay. Doesn't happen everywhere. Thanks for everything

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Overall a good place to relax and pamper yourself!!

I must admit driving to the Tschuggen Grand hotel, I didn't think very highly of the 1960's type building for the accommodation area but it redeemed itself once inside - some areas like the bar reminded me of an old fashioned disco area but then again, I think this is more down to taste!!!
We had the basic room which was nice and functional - not overly decorated or had any wow factor but it was comfortable so can't complain.

The spa area had a special design and we loved spending time there. It was quite big as well.

Breakfast was plentiful and you could order to your heart's content.
Dinner was delicious also. We had a set course meal and the waiters did a good job serving us.

The hotel does offer a free activity card for ride on their rail and other surrounding activites - unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there but be sure to take up the offer if you stay here!

Overall, I think this hotel delivers in terms of service and amenities but expect to pay for it! It's not a particularly cheap hotel to stay in but if you can afford it - why not?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel of Arosa has been superb .The service is incredibly good with every single employee going the extra mile in a very friendly way and being empowered to take immediate decisions. The Bergoase swimming pool is wonderful. I have been alone in the large lap swimming pool (29°C) every day of our stay. The second adult pool is warmer (35°C) and meant for pleasure as it’s full of jacuzzis and waterfalls including a small external pool that you can reach from the inside pool. We did not use the fitness or spa center that looked great. Rooms and cleanliness are perfect with all expected amenities from a 5 stars hotel. Food in the various restaurants is exceptionally good. Arosa’s hiking possibilities are great (although optimistic in their signage duration if you are not an athlete !. The hotel is uphill vs the city center but there are multiple ways to get everywhere in the village through nice "pedestrian only" alternatives. I would definitively recommend a stay in this hotel during the summer months as this is a gem in the Alps.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This is the 5th year my family and I have returned to the Tschuggen Grand and it is without doubt our favourite family 5 star hotel in Switzerland. There is something for everyone, little ones, teenagers, and adults. The private Tshuggen lift up the slopes is just heavenly, the spa out of this world, the swimming pools amazing, the games room fab, staff couldn't do more to help/so friendly - if I had to make one criticism it would be that the main restaurant for dinner tries to be a little to trendy with the food and could do with sticking to slightly more main stream dishes. Markus Breu from the Arosa ski school is an outstanding teacher as well as great fun - highly recommended.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tschuggen Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Address: Sonnenbergstrasse | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#1 Green Hotel in Arosa
#2 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#3 Family Hotel in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tschuggen Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Switzerland's Unique Wellness Hotel Stay with us and experience the breathtaking mountain scenery of Graubunden at its most beautiful. Genuine, heart-felt hospitality accompanies our guests throughout the Grand Hotel. A fond attention to detail reveals itself with understated elegance to the appreciative seasoned traveller. Not to mention one of the most impressive wellness areas in Europe set in a stunning mountain landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tschuggen Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tschuggen Grand Arosa
Hotel Tschuggen Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tschuggen Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.